Cakes from Monday

I ended up working by myself again on Monday, so I didn't get to be as creative as I had hoped, but I did get to make a couple of sets of cupcakes and a couple of cakes. 

I wanted to get some cupcakes out in the case with a fall theme.  I made several of these, but they didn't stay in the case very long. 

 

I usually use the air brush sprayer for a little color, but on these cupcakes, I went for saturation. 

 

This is a new kit cake that is supposed to promote the new Tinkerbell video.  Tinkerbell and all the other fairies are really popular right now. 

 

Are they re-releasing Snow White?  This is another new kit.  I can't keep up with all the new stuff.  I also made up the Bakugan kit, and although I don't know what the movie/video is about, the cake is cool.  I think it will be popular, too, especially with the boys.  It's all done with air brush colors, so I like that a lot.  I thought using a air brush would be very hard, but it is much easier than I ever dreamed.  Thank goodness, 'cause we use it a lot. 

I'm off again tomorrow, but I have a ton of stuff to do, especially paper work.  Did most of my laundry today.  I downloaded Quickbooks last week, so I need to see if I can get our farm records set up.  I hate the end of year mess that I usually have. 

We are just starting to get some fall color.  I may have to take a walk tomorrow and see if I can get some photos. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cakes from Monday

  1. Mary Dawson says:

    Love the cupcakes! Is it OK if I put the photo on my Facebook along with your blog name?

  2. LBeeeze says:

    Those are some intensely colored cupcakes! Where could I find these fancy cakes??

  3. I love it when you post pictures of your cake decorating!! It makes me crave cakes. Have you seen this blog? Cake Wrecks. They just released a book to go along with it. Some good ones on there that make you smile.

  4. I would be honored! I'm glad you enjoy the photos.

  5. You should be able to get them at any Wal-Mart Supercenter. Take in a picture of what you want, and they should do it for you. I know there is a new one at 141 and Manchester.

  6. I hadn't run into Cake Wrecks. Thanks for sharing. OMG! I thought we had problems! The biggest headaches we have to deal with are too many orders and/or not enough people, and customers that don't like the finished product. I may have to start a cake decorating horror story blog!

  7. LBeeeze says:

    Thanks very much. I think they're still building the new Wal-Mart at 141 and Manchester….it's been awhile since I've been by there…maybe it's finished. It sounds like a great location, but I hope they do something about the traffic flow. That whole area is a huge bottleneck….probably why I haven't been by there in sometime.

  8. I think the traffic is still an issue, and they are building a big Costco right behind the Wal-Mart store. My daughter bought something there a week or so ago, so it must have just opened.

  9. You are getting to be quite the artist here. Love the first set of cupcakes.

  10. Thanks, Maureen! Seeing things in photographs is helping me see new ways to work with colors on my cakes. Those cupcakes were an inspiration that really worked well. We had a bunch of summer purple icing that needed to be used, but it didn't have any character, so I mixed some black with it, and added the orange pumpkins.

  11. That is so cool that you can be creative at work! My job was so restrictive and didn't allow for me to use my imagination or creative skills…just one of the many reasons I no longer work there.

  12. I understand. I've even ask to go full time, at least for awhile, so we can get insurance. I couldn't work 9 to 12 hour days if I couldn't be creative.

  13. Love the top cakes!Thought of you today …. a mom brought over 80 tiny cupcakes for each of our four classrooms. hmmmmmm …. I wonder how many cupcake crazy people there are out there in the world, lol

  14. I'm crossing my fingers for you, hope you get insurance soon. I'm going to have to pay for insurance now and boy is that expensive. I may have to go to work just to pay for my insurance.

  15. This is definately the cupcake season at our store. I took an order for six Halloween cupcakes for the 30th, and I'm sure we will have a lot more. We do more cupcakes in October than in the whole rest of the year.

  16. I'm really not too hopeful. My manager came and ask me very nicely to please open up my Sunday availability since there was only one other girl who could/would work on Sunday. While I was at it, I ask for my status to be changed to full time. The only advantage would be the insurance. I really don't want to work full time. Four days a week is enough, especially since I usually have some of the grandkids at least one day a week. I haven't done any sewing for a couple of weeks, and today was the first time I had cooked anything in some time. My hubby's SS check is just enough to pay for our insurance, and mine buys the groceries, so we can get by the way we are for now.

Leave a Reply

