Back on the farm

My daughter didn't have to work today, so I got to come back home.  Had to stop at Wal-Mart to pick up a few things, so I headed to the fabric department (yes, they still have one!).  Picked up a piece of cute Valentine's Day fabric and a yard of white fabric.  Don't know what I'm going to do with them yet.  I like to buy fabric I like, then figure out what to do with it!

When I got home, I had a package waiting for me from Fabric.com.  It is a pretty pink and red heart fabric that I liked, plus a Valentine's Day panel.  Stay tuned to see what becomes of them!

        Here is an example of the

method to my madness.  Instead                                           

        of starting with a preplanned

pattern or design, I cut out stacks

of squares (in this case they are

four inches) in fabrics that I like

and/or think will go together. 

Then I try to arrange them into a

design that I like.  The picture at

left is my laid-out design.  The

picture on the right shows the finished table runner.  I used an off-white

muslin to back each square.  It is sewn together in rows with 1/2 inch

seams.  I clip each row as I finish it, then press the seams open. 

 

I put my new fabric in the machine to wash out the sizing when I came up here to the computer.  Time to go put it in the dryer.  I'll go take a picture of the runner that I have laid out now, too.  Later!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

