Testing my computer in the country and rag quilting!

 

I'm tempting fate!  I'm trying again to load pictures with my home computer.  So far, so good!

Here is a picture of the special order table runner I made for St. Patrick's Day.  It looks great on my daughter's coffee table. 

I got to my back out to the country yesterday.  Laid out and finished another table runner.  It is in the dryer now. 

Now I'm working on another table runner made out of vintage denim with appliqued shamrocks.  I love working with vintage denim.  It has so much character.  I'm also trying something I have never done before.  I added a layer of muslin between the top square and the back square.  I want to see how it affects the seams. I have all the squares quilted, and one of the appliques finished.  Hope to finish this afternoon.

 

 

 

 

This detail shows how I finish the corners of my table runners.  I stitch straight across the ends and down each side, backstitching at each end using a 1/2 inch seam allowance.  Then I clip the edges all the way around until I reach the stitching at the ends.  I leave a square at each corner that is not clipped.  Also, I clip once in each open crosswise seam allowance that I have pressed open and stitched open, but I do not clip the seam, so at each junction of squares, there is a space that is not clipped.  I clip all the seams by folding them back so I can clip thru both layers at once.  For the outside edges, I turn the runner face down so I am working from the back.  I clip from right to left, holding my left hand under the edge of the runner, and keeping my thumb on top to guide the fabric. By moving both hands at the same rate, I can quickly clip the length of the runner.  I clip with the back of the scissors, close to the pivot point.  If I accidently clip into the seam, I just slip it back under the needle and restitch the seam.  I clip the seams that join the squares and the outside edge while I'm sitting down at my sewing machine.  I clip the long seams the join the rows standing up at my ironing board. 

 

I posted this picture to show you the difference that fabric can make.  All the top squares on this table runner are made from tightly woven quilt fabric.  You can see that even though I used muslin as a backing fabric, the seams look shaggy instead of frayed like the seams in the runners made from loosely woven homespun fabrics.  I try to make sure that the corners where the four squares come together meet perfectly.  I don't pin anything, but have my seam ripper in my right hand all the time to guide the fabric through the machine.  The seam ripper is also handy for making sure that the seam allowances on the bottom stay open as you stitch over them. If the top of one row appears to be longer than the bottom row, I turn it over and stitch the seam from the other end.  It is easier to ease excess fabric in with the feed dog to distribute the fullness.  Sometimes it is impossible to make the seams meet, but if all the seam allowances are pressed open and stitched open in the seam, the difference will not show on the right side. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

