More rag quilting in the country

 

 

Here's a picture of my latest creation.  I got the idea from a picture in my latest quilting magazine.  I was a picture of a wall hanging, but I thought the idea would work as a table runner.  The picture had butterflies.  I added the appliqued flowers, too.  Their butterflies were just flat appliques.  I made mine so they are only attached at the body.  The flower are tied on.  I'm still trying to upload all the pictures onto Etsy.  My computer is so slow that I lose my connection before even one picture can load. 

 

Here is a close-up of one of the butterflies. 

It is cut from a large flower print.  I sat in Mass this morning trying to figure out how to make this.  I don't like to use patterns.  The wings are a variation of the flower petals.  Each one of cut freehand from a 2 inch square of fabric.  I stitched them onto a piece of fabric with a piece of batting on top that was a little bit bigger than the finished butterfly.  I left a space between the two sets of wings so I could add the body.  I built it up with the zig-zag stitch of my sewing machine, so that when I attached it to the table runner, I only had to go over it a couple of times. 

 

 

Here is a close-up of one of the flower appliques.  You can see how it is tied on with pearl cotton.  Each petal is individually cut out and rag quilt stitched on the backing and batting, then cut out.  I cut three petals from a 2" x 4" piece of fabric.  I'm so used to working with 4 inch squares, that every thing I do is based on that basic unit.  I'm adding appliques to the border of the shoo-fly squares table runner.  I am cutting them out of two inch squares.  I hope it will make the borders more interesting.  I should be able to finish it tomorrow. 

I have been able to stay home and do a lot more quilting than usual.  My daughter just works evenings this week, so I'm not sure if I will be going back to the city on Tuesday or not.  We are supposed to be getting a lot of rain in the next 24 to 48 hours.  We don't have to worry about flooding at our house.  We live up out of the valley.  Some of our fields will sometimes be under water because we do live near the mouth of a creek that empties into a river that flows into the Mississippi. 

Sorry the formatting is messed up on this.  I should have put all the pictures on the same side of the page. 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More rag quilting in the country

  1. Art and Tea says:

    That runner is really pretty. I love the idea of the flowers and butterflies raised off the surface.

  2. Thanks! There was a picture of a quilt in one of my magazines that had 3-D flowers, but they made theirs out of one piece of fabric with rounded petals. It looked pretty in the pictures, but I didn't like it when I tried it that way. The butterfly is my own idea. The other butterfly on the table runner has it's wings folded. I made it just like this one, but folded it in half before I attached it to the runner. There may be a close up picture of it on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

