Cool weather in the country

Here's the place mats that I started on last week.  I was in the kitchen most of yesterday afternoon.  I made blueberry muffins, no bake chocolate cookies, and stir-fry.  Then I finished these place mats.  The homespun strips are pieced to a piece of Warm and Natural batting.  Then I added a muslin backing before rag quilted the quilted patchwork hearts.  Then I hand quilted the strips before adding the rag quilted "border".  The reverse side looks nice, too.  Take a look on Etsy

I spent most of today trying to get my computer running again.  My hard drive was so full that it wouldn't run any programs or let me load pictures, or anything.  I did finish one of the little dresses I was making for the twins.  I'll post a picture tomorrow.  I also got out my menus that I am planning for camp.  Last year I volunteered to spend a week helping in the kitchen at a camp for kids with cancer.  I will need to get the food ordered  in a couple of weeks.  Camp is the first week of June. 

We are supposed to get frost tonight.  I moved most of my plants back inside already.  Still have one planter to go.  I have little radishes in the garden, but a little frost won't hurt them. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cool weather in the country

  1. SweetMisery says:

    Love the place mats. Yes we might get freeze tonight also. yuck. More rain coming later in the week also. Poor folks are never going to get dried out.

  2. Thanks! I'm kind of in a primitive, homespun theme right now. You just never know which way the wind is going to blow my brain!
    We had 29 degrees this morning and lots of frost. Good thing I brought all my plants in. They might have been okay on the porch, but I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Leave a Reply

