Shots for Photo Quest #15

The weather had been so cool and rainy that it was late this afternoon before I went outside.  This was taken about 7:30 pm, about 30 minutes before the sun set.  It is a little sycamore tree that is just now leafing out.  It was taken with a Canon Powershot A540 on automatic.  I may have had the maco setting on.  The flash was off. 

 

I took this picture of a rose after I came back inside.  The sun had set, but it wasn't dark yet.  I had the light in the room turned off, and the flash on the camera was off.  I had the vase setting in front of a south facing window and used the macro setting on the Canon PowerShot A540. 

 

I took this picture of a frog or toad last Wednesday, May 7th.  I forgot about him until after the sun had set, so it was darker than I wanted it to be.  I wanted to take his picture without flash, but it was too dark, so I had to try to keep from getting glare from the flash or the overhead lights.  He is sitting in the window well of my sewing room.  I cropped the shot, and I may have had the macro setting on, but I can't remember.  Taken with same Canon PowerShot A540. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shots for Photo Quest #15

  1. Darcy says:

    Very good! I like the poor toad, he looks like he wants to come inside.

  2. Thanks, Darcy! He is an interesting fellow. He lives in the window well, so I get to check on him pretty often. Your leaf shots were fantastic!

  3. Darcy says:

    Thanks! Hope you had a great Mother's Day.

  4. Yummy colors and great subjects! The frog is so cute and the rose is awesome but the first photo of the new leaves is amazing!! Great entries!

  5. Thanks! And thanks for the photo quest. I have started looking at the world more carefully and seeing things that I had never noticed before, like the bright red at the base of the leaf bud. I also found two more little bird's nests to add to my collection. One is totally lined with the hair from our black cows. It is amazing. I'll have to post a picture of it.

  6. You are welcome. If you don't mind a suggestion…if you had a different background on the left photo it would work better. You have the pong in the background and it has intersection lines with your leaf. If the background was one solid thing the grass, the sky or the pond the plant would stand out better. You can acheive diferent backgrounds by taking photos of different sides of the subject. getting above, below or eye level with your subject. Just a few suggestions on how to improve your backgrounds….even with the background the photo is a good one!

  7. You are right. Thanks for the suggestion. I think I tried to move a little bit to the left, but my shadow was in the picture. I should have moved a lot to the left. I took several shots, but this one worked best.

Leave a Reply

