Making crab apple jelly

Here's today's batch of crab apple jelly cooling on the window sill.  As you can tell, I put jelly in whatever leftover jar I can find.  I would like to get one nice set of jars to use as gifts.  I looked at Wal-Mart today, but they didn't have any. It's all I can do to make one batch a day.  I do have enough extra juice from today that I can make another batch tomorrow morning before I start on the next batch of apples.  I may just freeze some of the juice to fix later.  I'm about out of jars.

My interview this morning went really well.  I liked the superintendent a lot.  I applied for the position of food service director for a school district.  It would be basically the same as my old job, except at a smaller school.  That's fine with me.  I hope to find out soon, because school starts on August 20th.  Not a lot of time to plan menus and order food.  I think I could pull it off if I started on Monday or Tuesday. 

I am really tired from standing so much today.  Need to do laundry and pick green beans tomorrow, as well as working with more of those little red apples. Need to do a lot of paperwork, too.  No rest for the wicked! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Making crab apple jelly

  1. Karen Lynn says:

    Your jelly looks so good I can just about taste it! Did you check the grocery section? They usually have the canning jars near the food.

  2. Darcy says:

    Very pretty! I'll bet your family loves it.I bought several cases of canning jars, small ones, at a garage sale once. They are in the attic. If you lived close, I'd give them to you. My little brother is making dill pickles.

  3. Mordacity says:

    You're right! It looks delicious! 🙂 I may have to try and find some… hmm..

  4. I found the secion of the store where they had the canning supplies. They had the Sure-Jell, but the only jars they had were quarts. I want pints. I forgot to look at Orscheln's when I went there for dog food.

  5. Wish I could take those jars off your hands. I think I have some, but they must be up in the attic, and that's a place I do not go.

  6. I don't know if crab apple trees grow down where you are or not. At this time of year, or a couple of weeks ago, really, you should be able to see them just driving down the street. Ours was just loaded with little red apples. If you find one, the owner will probably be glad to let you have some apples. Otherwise they just fall to the ground and make a mess.

  7. Jean says:

    My that looks good. I've never made jelly, but I always intended to learn because I love homemade jelly so.

  8. It really isn't hard if you use the pectin products, like Sure-Jell. They even have directions for using grape juice or apple juice so you don't even have to mess with the fruit. It does take a bit of time, especially if you have to prep all the fruit.

  9. Jean says:

    I'll have to try that. One of the big things holding me back from trying was cooking down the fruit.

  10. You really should give it a try with the grape or apple juice. It would take about half an hour. You still have to wait for the liquid to come to a boil, then add the sugar, then bring it to a boil again and boil for one minute. I bet white grape juice would make good jelly. It might be a little pathetic to look at though! I wonder what would happen if you used cranberry juice? Maybe you could use half apple and half cranberry juice. That would be pretty.

  11. Jean says:

    I will definitely try my hand at it. It probably won't be for a little while, but I'll let you know how it goes!

  12. Good luck! It isn't too hard, and the kids will love it.

Leave a Reply

