Saturday in the country

I usually avoid flash photography like the plague, so this week's Photo Quest challenge to shot with flash was a real challenge. 

I have been working on it for two nights.  Tonight I went through about 100 shots to try to pick out some good ones.  This one made the cut.  The petunia bloom is about half way open.  It wasn't dark yet when I took the shot; the sun was just setting, and I used a filter to keep from over exposing the flower. 

I worked up a few more apples today, but didn't make any more jelly.  Hubby didn't go looking for the jars.  One of our sons is coming tomorrow.  Maybe he will go look for them.  If he has time, I want him to set my old computer up for my hubby's sister, who lives with us.  She can use it to edit and print pictures, play games, etc.  She just won't have internet access. 

I did do a lot of paperwork on the computer today.  I paid bills and balanced bank accounts and downloaded banking info to Money 2005,  I'm going to have to see if the bank can send me all of the back dated info that I need from January through June.  I tried several times today to order some blank check registers and deposit slips.  Since I do most of our banking on the computer, I run out of registers and slips a long time before I run out of checks.  Does anyone have a place that you can order those two things from?  I found a couple of web sites, but I couldn't complete the transaction at either place. 

Photo Quest is going to have to wait.  I'm running out of steam.  Think I'll watch a little bit of the Olympics before I go to bed.  Later! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Saturday in the country

  1. grannyjewell says:

    I can't help with the bank slips.
    I am watching the Olympics to. Just watch Phelps get his gold. I wonder what happened to the music. Oh well guess we should expect things like that to happen. I just watched the women and Coventry almost beat that gal from Austrela, great match.

  2. Karen Lynn says:

    I've found that ordering checks and deposit slips directly from the bank to be the quickest and cheapest way to go. For our business, I use Deluxe. They have great service, and once you set it up they just deduct the check charge from your account, like the bank does. I haven't even thought about this week's photoquest! We are busy girls eh? How many jars of jelly did you end up with?

  3. Those are the two things I saw last night, too. I wanted to watch the gymnastics, but fell asleep before it came on! I love the real, live human drama of the Olympics.

  4. I'm going to check out your web site. I order my checks online all the time.
    I'm going to try to get my Photo Quest photos posted tonight. A couple of them turned out really nice.
    I put 15 pint size jars of jelly in the freezer. I had four baby jars in the top of the frig that I gave to our sons tonight. I have enough juice in the frig to make two or three more batches. No one had time to look for jars tonight. There are still a lot of apples on the tree, but I'm in no hurry for them to come off!

  5. bold as love says:

    I too hate using the flash. My camera flash always washes everything out no matter what i try and do…

  6. Take a look at my flash pics that I'm going to post in a few minutes. After reading about flash photography in the Photo Quest link. I had never thought about using filters before, but that's what I did, and it is amazing how much difference it makes! My shots aren't perfect by any means, but I'm happy with them.

  7. grannyjewell says:

    I did make it to part of the gymnastics but fell asleep during part of it and watche part of the basketball today. Girls are on now so going to get back to that. Love the Olympics

  8. I do, too! I watched a little bit of the girls tonight. I had company all day, so didn't get to watch anything. I would have watched all of the girl's competition, but I was trying to get my photos loaded for Photo Quest #24. I know I have tomorrow, but I'm trying not to wait until the last minute to do everything!

Leave a Reply

