Blogging again!

Wow!  I didn't realize how going back to work would virtually wipe out time for the computer!  I have been able to keep up with my email this week, but that is all.  Sorry about losing touch with so many neighbors! 

Last Tuesday, I reported for orientation for my job at Wal-Mart as a cake decorator.  That morning, I had gone to an interview for a position as a cook at a private school that would have been really nice, but they called Friday to let me know they had hired some one else. 

Anyway, I did orientation on Tuesday.  On Wednesday, I started my CBL (computer based learning) training.  I finished that on Thursday morning and they took me right to the cake department.  I got my hair net and my apron, and went to work!  Today is my first day off. 

Any of you cake decorators out there with an good tips or ideas are welcome to help me out.  For the most part, it is pretty straight forward and simple.  I'm amazed at the number of cakes we sell.  Not much time to be fancy, but if you are doing a cake, you can be as creative as you want.  I like that! 

 

This begonia blossom is on a plant that kept alive all winter and set back outside this summer.  It never did look very healthy, then a couple of weeks ago I started putting ferilizer in the water.  The difference is amazing, just like the TV commercials!  The leaves are bright and shiny and the flowers are huge! 

I work Monday, Wednesday and Friday this week, so maybe I will get in gear and be able to keep up.  This week I have been wiped out by the time I get home.  It is constant standing, but at least there is a lot of moving around. 

I have a roast in the oven for supper, and I have my third load of laundry in the washer.  Need to catch up on my email, cut my hubby hair, and make another batch of jelly!  Should keep me out of trouble. 

I'll try to keep up with everyone, but don't take it personal if you don't hear from me for awhile. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Blogging again!

  1. oh GOOD LUCK with the new job!

  2. Your life sounds like mine. My back is giving me fits this weekend so I'm taking photos and blogging as I can't do much else.

  3. Thanks! I'll have to see if I can take a picture of a cake. Both of the cakes I made for the display case sold.

  4. My feet were killing me when I left Saturday night, but I feel better today. Taking a nap helps!

  5. grannyjewell says:

    I'll tell you I don't miss working when I read things like your blog tonight. I miss the money alot but the hours and the hurrassment by customers and fellow workers was about too much for me the last couple years I worked. I got tired of being at work5 days a week when I had so many other things I felt I needed to be doing also.but 25 yrs was long enough.

  6. I would have liked to just stayed home, but my hubby needs insurance. He has several chronic health issues. He went to his doctor today to see if he could schedule surgery for his gall bladder, knee and shoulder all at the same time.

  7. This morning I got up and cut my hubby's hair. I still felt a little tired, so I decided to lay down again for a few minutes. I woke up 5 hours later!

  8. Must have! I haven't slept like that ever!

  9. grannyjewell says:

    That just sounds like a lot of surgery at one time. the knee is tough and you have to get up on it and walk very quickly. The shoulder to do theropy at the same time as gall bladder might not be to bad but lots of pulling and stretching once you start the theorpy.

  10. I sit all day long and if I had to be on my feet all day I would be in big pain!

  11. I know! The doctors may not do it. It will be up to the surgeons.

  12. I'd be in much better shape if I could wear my Crocs. I can work in them all day. Guess I'm going to have to get used to it. My legs don't hurt like I thought they would, although I did have leg cramps one night.

  13. Darcy says:

    I hope you get used to it soon!I have known a few people who worked for walmart and they all enjoyed the experience. My best to your husband as well.

  14. Thanks, Darcy! I would rather be quilting, but I have to pay the bills. So far, Wal-Mart has been a positive experience. When I was four, my family moved into a two room log cabin. Talk about primitive! I like to think I can still sort of relate to Wal-Mart people.
    I'll keep you posted on hubby's medical saga!

  15. Darcy says:

    I've heard a lot of bad stories about them but never from someone who actually worked there…. yes, please keep up posted on hubby. take care.

  16. I know several people who work there that really like it. They are supposed to be building a new super Wal-Mart in our home town. If and when they do, I may try to transfer there. I really like working only 4 days a week, even if I do have to work a lot of weekends. That is the busy time in the cake decorating department. I've been thinking how to transfer quilt designs and patterns to cakes. For men, especially. Pink roses don't exactly cut it! Your rabbits would be darling.

  17. Darcy says:

    Rabbits on cake! Do you think Walmart would pay royalties to use my patterns? We could talk 🙂

  18. I don't know. They are pretty strict about stuff. We can't even bring in a picture or anything. They send us "kits" for cakes for kids, and some pictures of cakes for weddings, etc., but that's it! I think your rabbits would be adorable.

  19. Darcy says:

    I'm sure they are ever mindful of being sued. thank you.

  20. I know they are very strict about designs. One day I sprayed a rainbow on a Care Bears cake. The picture in the book had a sun over the rainbow, which I thought was stupid and not needed, but I had to make the cake exactly like the picture, with the sun. Today I did a Hannah Montana. It had a purple border which looked like shells to me, but I was told that it was really puffs, so I had to take off the shells and change it to puffs! Something about copyright infringement. I'm not all that crazy about the kit cakes anyway. Not much room to be creative!

  21. Humm, I probably won't last long at WalMart….I like to change things around and following strick rules is very hard for me. lol

  22. Some of the rules are a bit weird. And now the plot thickens! Perhaps you can help me sort it out.
    While I was at work today, I got a phone call from a private school that our kids attended. Their cook just gave them two weeks notice. They wanted to know if I would be interested!
    I know I should be, especially if we can get insurance. It would be closer to home, and I would have regular hours. Shoud I feel bad about leaving Wal-Mart after only a month? Should I offer to stay on as a sub, or work week-ends or summers? I really do enjoy the work.
    Cooking for about 80 students would be a real challenge, but a nice one. I know most of the staff, although the students are all the age of my grandchildren! They may not pay much more than Wal-Mart does, but if I can get insurance, I almost have to take it.
    If it doesn't work out, I guess I could always go back to Wal-Mart!

  23. Wow, that is a hard decision but the insurance seems like the benefit that you need and if it iw offered that would be great for you. Check on the rules of WalMart. Where i work if you give less than a 2 week notice you can not be hired back. Good luck!

  24. Thanks for listening, WPG, and giving me your input. On Saturday, I kept making mistakes at work; wrong cake, no filling, wrong icing, etc. I finally realized I was worried about leaving!
    The insurance is important, but I think I can get on full time at Wal-Mart soon, so I will have insurance there.
    I also decided that I am too old to be lifting all the heavy pots and pans and boxes of food by myself, and doing all the scrubbing and cleaning. I can't get down on my knees anymore at all. And my back doesn't hurt, but I'm not taking any chances. I can do it at camp because I have someone to help me lift all the heavy pots, and someone else washes all the big pots and pans, and gets the heavy boxes out of the freezer. Most of the cases of food weigh 40 to 50 pounds, and that is just too much to be lifting on a regular basis.
    I called this morning and told them about my decision. They said that they have someone else who might be interested. I did tell them that if they could find a cook, and would come in and do all the paper and computer work. I feel better already!
    I really had fun last night. I was working by myself, and we weren't busy, so I got out some big chocolate chip cookies, and just tried different tips and colors to see what they would do. It was fun!

  25. Looks like the answer came to you! You might just end up with the best of both jobs.

  26. Yes, it may work out that way. I could keep my finger in the food service pie, but decorate my cake at Wal-Mart, and get insurance! God is good.

Leave a Reply

