Another Wednesday in the country

I'm still perfecting some of the settings that I tried on Sunday.  This one is black and white with fill flash.  I was still an hour before sunset, although the sun did go down behind a big cloud bank.  This is the same begonia that was so puny just a few weeks ago. 

I had to work today, but I wasn't completely wiped out when I got home.  I fixed tuna salad for supper with fresh green beans and tomatoes.  Then I had a piece of jelly bread for dessert. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Wednesday in the country

  1. Emjay says:

    Beautiful photo. What is jelly bread? (excuse the silly question!).

  2. No, it isn't a silly question. I didn't realize how it would sound. It is just a piece of bread, with or without butter, with jelly. I like to use whole wheat, but that is a personal preference. I don't eat it a lot, but I love it with my homemade crabapple jelly. It has just the right amount of sweetness. Jelly toast is good, too. I have jelly toast with peanut butter for breakfast when I don't have enough time for oatmeal. I'm really sounding old fashioned, aren't I?

  3. Emjay says:

    LOL….. "jelly" in Australia is what Americans call jello – so I was imagining some strange concoction like pieces of bread set in your jello. LOL. So … I think you had something yummy like toast with "jam". What is the difference then between "jam" and "jelly" – or don't you use the word "jam"? Yesterday I had toast with a thick Australian fig jam – delicious!

  4. That does sound good. We use the word "jam", too, but it refers to a product that is made with smashed fruit. Jelly is made by cooking the fruit, smashing it, then putting the pulp in a mesh bag and hanging it so that you just get the juice and none of the pieces of fruit. Preserves is what you have when you make a product with large pieces of slighty smashed fruit. Even if I would have said a piece of bread with jelly, it still would have been confusing!
    There is a concoction here that some people make called jello cake. You take a baked cake layer, poke holes in it, then pour liquid jello over the cake, you know, like before you put in it the frig to set. Then you put the whole thing in the frig. It is usually frosted with whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

