A beautiful Friday in the country

No work today.  Yeah!  I really do enjoy working, but I like the fact that I only work 4 days a week.  I went out last night about 7:00 again, but it was darker than usual because a storm was moving in.  This flower was taken in black and white with fill flash.  I really like the way it make the flower stand out from the background.  I did some experimenting last night with black and white with fill flash and moving the camera away from the object to soft the flash and zooming in to get the detail. 

I'm doing laundry today, and making my last batch of jelly.  I also need to practice some of my icing techniques.  I got to do an order cake yesterday.  That was pretty exciting.  I had to spray a sky, add icing and create texture for sand then spray it, make block and rocks out of icing and put stars in the sky.  It was a Wall-E and Eve cake.  I need to watch more children's movies/TV.  I have no idea who Wall-E and Eve are! 

I also made a Care Bear cake with a sprayed rainbow and clouds.  That turned out pretty good, too.  I still have a lot to learn, but I've come a long way in one week.  Using the air brush gun to add color is one of the really cool things I get to do.  I still need to learn how to make roses, and other flowers, and do swirls.  Mine are all lopsided! 

 

This shot of the grasshopper is one of those lucky accidents.  I was looking for praying mantis or dragonflies, but I love the detail in this critter!  Again, it's black and white with fill flash.  It was still light enough that the automatic settings weren't firing the flash.  I'm pretty sure I zoomed in on him to keep from scaring him, but he saw me.  The eye is fantastic! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A beautiful Friday in the country

  1. Emjay says:

    The grasshopper shot is awesome! The B&W brings out all the definition in its "shell" and yes, the eye is fantastic! What sort of Jelly/jam are you making? đŸ™‚ LOL – I am glad you wrote that you did not know who Wall-E & Eve are; I was thinking this is another bit of Americana I was missing!

  2. I'm going to make my last batch of crab apple jelly. Crab apples are rather small tart apples that grow on a smallish tree. It has beautiful blooms in the spring, and sometimes, a lot of apples. I picked over 100 lbs. Sorry I can't convert that for you. Let's just say it was a lot of apples!
    I fixed all of them, and cooked them, then strained the juice and put it in the frig a couple of weeks ago. Since then I've been making a batch of jelly every other day or so when I'm not working. On Monday, I made batch in pretty jelly jars to use as gifts for Christmas.
    I'm still not sure who/what Wall-E and Eve are. Don't know if it is a movie or a cartoon or what. Guess I should check it out on the web. I need some way to keep up with what is cool with kids. My baby is 26, so she is no help!
    Glad you like the grasshopper. They are pretty cool, aren't they?

  3. grannyjewell says:

    I have been playing around with the mono myself and the more I do the more I like it. I picked up a program and installed it to my computer the other day. It is a beginner program but I have a picture I took of my granddaughter that I want to change to black and white but leave her blue eyes. Still playing with it but think it will really be cool if I can get it to work.

  4. That sounds really neat! Let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

