Rag quilting in the country

I finally had a chance to do some quilting this week and finished this homespun quilt that I have been working on for two months!  All of the top squares are 6 inch homespuns.  I used muslin in the middle, and off-white flannel for the backing and the border.  All of the squares are either red, blue or green.  I originally laid it out with some darker colors, too, but decided I liked it better with all light colors, even though it did mean a lot more repeats.  I'm not sure if I will get it listed on Etsy tonight or not.  

I have to work for the next five days in a row, so I may not be able to keep up with everyone.  We got a little over an inch of rain this morning.  I thought it was going to rain all day, but it was just cloudy this afternoon. 

I'm going to try some leaf appliques for some pot holders.  I need some handmade things for a church fund raiser next month.  I'm not very ambitious tonight.  I may just watch TV! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rag quilting in the country

  1. Emjay says:

    Wow – what an impressive effort! Well done.

  2. Amy Sue says:

    That's a beautiful quilt! What does homespun mean?

  3. Thanks! I'm proud of it.

  4. Thanks! Homespun fabrics are loosely woven with fewer threads per inch then traditional quilt fabrics. The strips or plaids are woven into the fabric. They work well for rag quilting because the edges fray out easily. All of the colors are somewhat muted, similar to homemade fabrics.

  5. magnifika says:

    Very neat! Hand-made warmth can be felt even from the photo!

  6. Thanks! This is the first time I have made a quilt with a flannel backing. It is so nice to snuggle with.

Leave a Reply

