End of summer Sunday in the country

There isn't very much color in the trees yet, but you can tell that fall is on it's way.  When I got home tonight, my hubby and a friend  were out fishing, so I picked up the camera and walked down to the lake.  I played mostly with zooming in on stuff.  I didn't want to get off the road to take any pictures. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was 6:00 already when I left the house for the lake, so the sun was getting low in the sky.  I'm not sure what settings I was using to get the focus on the cosmos. 

I did one cake differently at work today, and it really turned out nice.  It was a Transformers "kit" that was supposed to have an added layer of icing that was supposed to look like flames.  It was very time consuming to do, and never looked that good anyway, so today I tried just spraying the flames and it worked great and was so much faster

I also tried making the new High School Musical cake this afternoon.  It has a perfect 5 point star on it that we are supposed to make free hand, with icing.  Mine was a little lopsided, so after supper tonight, I sat down with a piece of paper and figured out how to draw 5 point stars free hand.  I'll have to make another cake like that to see if I can do it with icing! 

 

 

 

 

I love this reflection of the walnut tree.  It has already lost most of its leaves.  

 

It wasn't long before the sun was going down fast.  Here's our house and garage up on a little hill so we don't have to worry about flooding.  We planted all the trees in the picture except the walnut tree.   

 

I came on up the hill and walked over the the fence on the west of the house.  This was taken looking out across the soybean field with foxtail growning by the fence.  I got down on my knees to get the weeds in the foreground.  I always thought I liked vividly colored sunsets best, but I'm beginning to change my mind.  Since I started taking pictures of them, I like the ones like this one with the more delicate colors fading into one another. 

I don't have to work tomorrow, so I will try to catch up with my neighbors.  I'm also going to try to finish the table runner that I have been working on.  I still have enough apples for another apple pie, so I may do that, too. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to End of summer Sunday in the country

  1. April Tay says:

    When is your winter season?

  2. April, it will start cooling off here in the next several weeks. Our warm weather is over. We will still have warm days, but the days are getting shorter and the nights are getting cooler. Soon we will have frost on the ground in the morning and the leaves will all turn colors and fall off the trees. Then in another month or so, we will start getting snow and really cold weather.

Leave a Reply

