Saturday in the country

I promised Karen that I would post some of my unusual shots that I took with full sunlight on Friday, but first, here is our sunrise from yesterday, taken looking out over our lake.  You can't see the lake but you can see the lake effect fog. 

On Friday afternoon, I got bored with what I should have been doing, so I took my camera outside, even though it was hot, and the sun was blazing.  It was a challenge to get some good photographs.  See what you think. 

 

A praying manits and his shadow. 

 

A lady bug on the siding.  She was partially shaded by the crab apple tree. 

 

Cosmos and October sky. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Soybean field with foxtail in foreground. 

 

I took severl pictures of our grain bins, because we had just gotten them painted last Saturday.  This on is my favorite, with the focus on the single stem in the foreground and the field and bins out of focus. 

 

I had never taken pictures of this shed before because it is so ugly, but Friday I decided that that was the best reason to take a picture of it.  It is the only original building left on the farm that was here when we bought it in '72. 

 

Peeling paint, anyone?  This is really impressive when you blow it up. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is one of the more interesting shots I took.  I was looking up the side of the shed.

 

This is one of my favorites.  I like the contrast of the white paint with the dark door knob and the rust running down.  When you blow it up, you can see all the peeling paint.  This is a door that was somewhere here on the farm when we bought it.  I think it was somewhere in the house, which is 100 years old this year.  The knob is original, too. 

I took a few more, but it's time to fix lunch. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Saturday in the country

  1. Amy Sue says:

    Great photos! I really like the sunrise. 100 years old… so cool that your home has a history. I like the photo of the door also. If only it could talk! 🙂

  2. Don't you know it! Just think about all the changes it has seen. I think we are only the third family to live here.

  3. SarahK says:

    Mom – you are getting to be quite the photographer – I love seeing all the pictures.

  4. Emjay says:

    These are great. I love the ones of the shed and paint – they make really interesting subjects. The soybean field reminds me of growing up on the farm!

  5. Thanks, Sarah! When I don't feel like doing anything else, I can always go out and find something to take pictures of. This is the first time I had gone out at 2:00 in the afternoon and taken pictures of ugly stuff. Don't know what I'm going to do when it gets cold. Get a heavy coat, I guess!

  6. Thanks, Em! I had never thought of the old shed with the peeling paint as an interesting subject to photograph. My options were limited by the bright sun.

  7. Emjay says:

    Yeah – I found that today when I went to take photos of my roses. It was late morning and the sun was "blinding" almost. Soon we will be wishing for sun once winter gets here.

  8. Yup, sometimes you can have too much of a good thing. It is hard to take good pictures with bright sunlight.

Leave a Reply

