Monday in the Country

Hi, Everyone!  Sorry I have been away so long.  I had to go in to work on Saturday because someone called in sick.  I got to decorate my first wedding cake.  It wasn't perfect, but it did look nice. 

I did decorate a cake last night that I am really proud of.  It was a chocolate cake and I put chocolate icing on it, then decorated it with chocolate stems and leaves.  I used leaves for a border around the top instead of the traditional borders.  It was quite elegant. 

I also did a free hand flag that I like, too.  I didn't try to make it look exactly like a flag, just close enough that when you looked at it, you got the message.  I took a cake with white icing, sprayed a corner blue then piped a few white stars.  Then I sprayed the rest red, but not a solid red.  It was more or less abstract stripes, then because the over spray didn't leave very much white, I took a bag of white icing with a small tip and added white lines in a free hand angled way.  It was easier to do than it is to describe! 

When I stepped out the door this  morning, the sun was shining on this geranium and my hubby's boots.

 

I have been trying all summer to take a perfect picture of these pink petunias.  I think this one is the best yet, and here it is the first week of November!  I put the planter up on the porch so it wouldn't freeze. 

I'm trying to come up with a good idea for a winter wedding cake?  Any suggestions?  We always have a wedding cake display, and they have ask me to come up with a new idea for this winter.  The one we have now is chocolate with fall leaves.  I would like to do pale blue with silver snow flakes, but we can't do silver, and snowflakes are really hard to make. 

 

This is the best color we have around our house.  I know what the name of the bush is, but I don't know how to spell it!  Look how green the grass still is.  It has clouded over already, so I'm not sure if I will get any more pictures or not.  I have some interesting seed pods that I'm trying to shot, but it is hard to get the right angle. 

I need to do laundry and such.  I have to work for three days straight beginning tomorrow.  I do get two days off in a row next week, including Sunday.  That hasn't happened since the first weekend of September!  Need to do some quilting today, too, and upload some more pictures to iStock. 

Later! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday in the Country

  1. SweetMisery says:

    Your place looks wonderful.

  2. Thanks! It's nothing fancy, but I like it that way. It's home and it's paid for!

  3. Seph says:

    Holly and evergreens are very winter.

  4. Karen Lynn says:

    It is a burning bush right? I think that is the slang for it anyway. I wish you could take pictures of your cakes gf, I would love to see them. Do you have a camera on your cell?

  5. Emjay says:

    Did you suggest doing a catalog of your cake decorations for your employer? That way you would have a record of your designs (and we might get to see them). That's a lovely colour petunia – mine is still flowering a deep purple but the leaves are looking really ratty. The manservant mowed our lawn again this w/end – he thought he was finished for a few months! LOL.

  6. I saw a pretty picture of a wedding cake today that was decorated with painted holly leaves and berries. I have to come up with something that we can do with icing. I'm thinking about an ivory cake with deep red roses. Not very original but I think it would be pretty.

  7. I'm not sure. What I always called a burning bush has red leaves in the spring. But I could be wrong.
    I'll have to see if I can take pictures of any of my cakes. I can't take pics with my cell phone. It's a freebie. The biggest problem is the santitation issue. The only thing we can take with us to our area is our bodies and our brains. We can't even have water!

  8. We talked about making a book with pictures, but it hasn't happened. We would have to clear it with the sanitation people. They are pretty strict about everything that enters the area where we do cakes has to be sanitized. They really worry about cross contamination. I could probably take pictures of them in the cake case, but then I would have a reflection from the plastic cover.
    I have a few darker petunias, too, but they don't look as good as the pink ones. Hubby had to mow our grass last week, too. Lots of years he is finished mowing in July because it gets so dry that it all dies by then.

  9. Atlantis says:

    I think that would look beautiful, especially with green trim 🙂

  10. We have been short staffed again this week so I haven't had a chance to try it.

Leave a Reply

