A cold Monday in the country

My daughter in Texas sent me this poinsettia for Thanksgiving.  I have never seen one this big!  I hope I can keep it looking like this until Christmas.  Thanks, S!

It is down right cold here today.  I don't think it got up to 30 all day.  We did have just a hint of sunshine a couple of times.  We do have a dusting of snow on ground. 

I had to rearrange my indoor plants today to make room for the poinsettia.  Fortunately my dining room faces the southwest, so it is home to all my plants during the winter.  Two of my Christmas cactus have buds.  Yeah! 

I have worked for the past four days, so I had lots of laundry, banking, etc to do today.  Haven't had a chance to catch up with all my neighbors yet.  Had to take a nap this afternoon.  LOL  I did make a big pot of vegetable soup this morning.  Our church ladies group is having their Christmas party tonight, so I thought I would go.  I don't do much except work these days!   I'm not looking forward to getting out in the cold.  Brrrr!

I've been trying to get going on my Christmas shopping.  I do most of it online.  I have a few things ordered already.  I have a couple of things I want to look for on Etsy, too. 

Hope everyone survived Thanksgiving!  I'll try to catch up ASAP.  I have to work again tomorrow, so that's out. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A cold Monday in the country

  1. Jean says:

    Pretty! Just wanted to check in… Good luck on getting your Christmas shopping done. I've still a while to go on ours! 🙂

  2. I worked for several hours on Sunday night, but didn't get finished. Think I know what else I need, except for a few stocking stuffers. The grandkids still hang stockings up at our house, too.

  3. Jean says:

    Sorry it's taken so long to reply. It's been a little crazy here. I still have a bit to go myself, but luckily we've mailed everything that needed to be mailed, so that's a start at least. 🙂

  4. I think I have received everything that I ordered, and none of it has to be sent back. Yeah! I need to double check my list. And I still need a birthday present for my of our granddaughters. She was born on Christmas Eve.

  5. Jean says:

    I finally finished ours, or at least I hope so. It's been a crazy year and I'm still trying to catch up.

Leave a Reply

