Spring is on the way!

I went outside this morning with my camera to see if I could find any signs that spring was on it's way, and ……

after pushing the mulch out of the way, I found these green shoots pushing up .  Doesn't look like much of a flower bed, does it?  Yet somehow, the daffodils in this bed look fastastic every year.  It was up to about 70 here today, and this bed is on the south side of the house.  Everything else still looks pretty dead.  I couldn't even find any crocus. 

It's not much, but it is better than the snow we had last week. 

I finally when down to my sewing room tonight.  I couldn't even remember what I was working on!  I have one table runner that needs batting before I can quilt it.  I sewed another set of triangle squares together tonight for a pink and purple table runner.  Not exactly my favorite, but I need a few things to donate to an auction soon.  It really felt good to be sewing again. 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Spring is on the way!

  1. Emjay says:

    Oooh! What a wonderful sign of good things to come. It is warmer here this w/end but I don't have any little shoots yet.

  2. Keep watching. Soon! It is much cooler here today, but it is supposed to be warm again on Monday and Tuesday.

  3. Amy Sue says:

    Yay! I love to see these first signs of spring! I'm keeping my eyes out for a robin….that's always our first sign! šŸ™‚

  4. Emjay says:

    It was 62 here today – I actually went and peered carefully into my little garden bed…. definitely no shoots! šŸ˜¦

  5. Haven't seen any robins yet, but we did hear a flock of geese come in and land on our lake about dark last night. They were still there when we went out this morning at 7:30, but were gone before I could get home and get my camera.

  6. Do you have any crocus? They should be first. I looked again for some today but nothing.

  7. Emjay says:

    No – no crocus. Some lilys and peonies. I think the peonies will be first.

  8. Karen Lynn says:

    This is premature spring-ulation! haha! We had a day in the 50's, and they are calling for 56 on Tuesday.

  9. Probably. I don't have any, but I would like to get one or two. They really are pretty.

  10. Yes, I'm sure we will have some more cold weather, but the days are getting longer now. Just seeing some sign of spring makes me feel better!

Leave a Reply

