Waiting for work on Wednesday

I got to work at 11:00 again today, so I have a little bit of time.  I got the two table mats listed on Etsy last night.  This morning, the light was coming in my kitchen window and hitting my dining room table, so I took some pictures of my latest finished table runner. 

 

I stepped outside my normal comfort zone to put the orange border on a pink and purple table runner.  Decorating cakes all day has helped to expand my use of color.  I can try interesting combinations with no problem.  If they are really terrible, I can take them off and try again, but that rarely happens.  I think I have a pretty good eye.  Keeping the values the same helps a lot.  I know I seem to be stuck on the same pattern, triangle squares, but I do the same thing with cakes.  I will get a design I like, and I will make it with only slight variations until I'm tired of it, then I'll try something new.  It's faster that way.  I set these triangle squares in a pinwheel pattern.  The last ones were in fields and furrows.  I'm working on one done in barn raising.  It is amazing how just changing the arrangement can make the design look entirely different, even when the basic unit is the same. 

I got off work a little after 4:00 last night, but I was tired, and my eyes wouldn't focus.  Finally took my contacts out and used my glasses.  With dial up, it takes a long time to list things on Etsy.  I don't have to work tomorrow, so I'll list this one then. 

Looks like we are going to have a really nice day here today.  I think they have rain in the forecast for later today.  We'll see!  Toodles!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waiting for work on Wednesday

  1. Jean says:

    Wow, that's so beautiful. How long did it take you to complete?

  2. I'm not sure. I work on things in such a hit and miss fashion that I rarely know how much time I've spent on them. The triangle squares go together pretty quickly, but then I have trouble sewing them together so that they make the right pattern. I can do one of the little table mats in a couple of hours, but it takes two or three hours just to hand stitch the binding on the table runners. I'm glad you like it.

Leave a Reply

