A rainy Good Friday in the country

We had an inch and a half of rain beginning about 4:00 pm yesterday and continuing into the night.  More is forecast for today.  The weather more or less fits the day.  It looks sad. 

I spent a lot of time again yesterday trying to update my virus protection program again.  Finally ended up reinstalling it again!  That isn't hard to do, but it takes over 4 hours to download the updates. 

 

I didn't go outside at all yesterday, so no new shots of the crabapple tree.  I did, however, do some quilting.  I'm still trying to use up squares, strips, small pieces of fabric before I buy anything.  Most of these strips were already cut.  I did have to get out a piece of fabric to cut the border and the corners, but they were scraps, too.  Not enough to make anything.  This is going to be a pillow top. 

 

Here's my layout for the back of the pillow.  I like to make pillows so they can be used on either side.  I got all of these triangle squares stitiched together, and added a green checked border, but somehow I miss calculated, and it isn't wide enough!  Now I have to decide if I want to take it off and start over, or just add another border.  I have to work for four days in a row, beginning today, so I will have plenty of time to think about it.  Last night, I was all for taking in off, but this morning I'm leaning toward adding another border.  I already had all of the blue squares cut out, leftovers from other projects, I guess.  The light colored squares are all from the same fabric.  It is some leftover scraps that someone gave me.  It is all in little strips and pieces.  I want to make some more place mats using this design.  I have a pile of blue and white strips that need to be used.  That might be interesting. 

Time to get my lunch put together and get myself to work.  I think we are going to be busy today. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A rainy Good Friday in the country

  1. Seph says:

    I'm fixated on that Holly Hobby looking square. I love Holly Hobby so very much.

  2. OMG! Those are real Holly Hobby squares. I fussy cut them from a small remnant of fabric that was left over from a dress I made for my oldest daughter when she was in Kindergarten. She will be 39 this fall! It was her favorite dress and she wore it until it fell apart.

  3. Seph says:

    That's fantastic! :DWhen I was little, my mom made a smock for me out of some Winnie the Pooh fabric, and every once in a while, I search the net for that fabric. If I ever find it, I'm buying it and making myself another painting smock. :)I do really love Holly Hobby though! 🙂

  4. I have/had some Winnie the Pooh fabric but I'm sure it wasn't the same as yours. I bought it about five years ago.

  5. Emjay says:

    These are great … I don't quilt (or do anything handy really), but I think I would just add another border – or buy a smaller pillow.

  6. I think I am just going to add another border. It has to be the same size as the piece with the Holly Hobby squares.
    Think about it like it was a picture. It will just be double matted. LOL

  7. Jean says:

    What kind of virus protection are you using? It shouldn't be having that many problems.

  8. I'm using Trend Micro. I tried using all of the free programs but none of them would work with Vista. They either would not download, or the computer would hang up. Trend seems to be working now, knock on wood!

  9. Jean says:

    We use avg, and I love it. We don't, however, use vista. I actually bought a refurbished laptop rather than a new one just so I wouldn't have vista. I'd heard way too many bad things about it.

  10. The only issue I'm having with it is this virus protection thing. I used AVG with my old computer and got along just fine. When I tried to download it onto this computer, it either wouldn't download right, or messed up the computer, I've forgotten which. I just sent my ISP an email this morning complaining that it isn't working, again! I may have to get Microsoft involved with this.

  11. Jean says:

    Yikes. In this day and age you need a good anti virus program. I would definitely talk to Microsoft; it's their program that's not working correctly.

  12. That is true. I keep thinking it is the anti virus program, but I guess it isn't.

Leave a Reply

