Photo Quest #55 – I Feel Blue

Blue and green are my favorite colors.  Some of the photos I've taken recently have a blue sky, but for the most part, I'm going to add blue to some of my favorites.  All were taken since last Thursday.

 I edited this one last night, and now I don't remember exactly what I did.  Who would ever guess that this is just a humble dandelion. 

If my iris was true blue instead of purple, it would look like this.  I changed the color by increasing the blue tint to the max.  This was taken about 5:30 this afternoon.  The sun was shining. 

 Here's a dandelion flower head.  It was taken in color, converted to a negative image, then the blue was increased and the edges were softened.  I like the way it draws you into the center of the seed head. 

 

 

This shot of a dried weed was taken in black and white, converted to a negative, then the color balance for blue was maxed out and the saturation increased. 

I think that is enough.  I have some blue table runners that I have made, but I like the shades of blue that I can make with the photo editing software better.  All of these were taken with a Canon Powershot A540 and edited with Microsoft Picture It!.  They were all taken with natural light.  I usually shoot in the foliage mode or in black and white. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photo Quest #55 – I Feel Blue

  1. yancunyong says:

    What a gorgeous and fantastic photos they are! I really love your taste of blue. Thank you for your tips for blue image of dandelion seed head! I'll try it 🙂

  2. Amy Sue says:

    All beautiful photos! I can see you're really enjoying photo editing software! Great job!

  3. Thanks, Amy Sue! I used to spend hours taking photos, now I spend more time editing. I really enjoy it. You just never know how a picture is going to turn out.

  4. Do try it! It isn't hard and the results are stunning. Just keep playing around with the color balance, saturation, and brightness and contrast as well as edges. I can't remember now, but I may have applied a gradual transparency to one of them, too. Be sure to post your results!

Leave a Reply

