News and Notes from Friday

It was a pretty good day out here in the country.  I didn't have to be at work until 9:00.  Unfortunately, it was cloudy so I turned on my lights, and forgot to turn them off (again)!  I am not at all bashful when I need to get my car jumped.  I just walk up to the first man I see and ask if he has jumper cables.  This is the third time I've had to get jumped in the Wal-Mart parking lot.  At least this time it was still daylight.  The other two times, it was dark already, but I always park under one of the lights. 

I bought some more plants tonight before I came home, so I spent an hour planted them before I even came in to get something to eat.  I knew if I sat down, I wouldn't want to get up again.  I didn't get any pictures tonight, but here are some from Thursday morning.

 

Here's a wee bib that I finished Thursday morning so I can take it with me on Sunday.  Our latest grandchild is going to be baptized.  I bought a blanket for him while I was in Texas in January, but I like to give all the grandkids something I've made, if I can.  The bear is cut out of the same fabric that I used for the binding.  If I have time, I would like to make a matching burpy. That may not happen!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love the veins in the petals of these petunias. 

 

Don't you just love these pink iris?  I really like the contrast against the dark background.

 

I got my start of these common daisies out of a road ditch many years ago.  This is the first one to open this year. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used to think the pink iris were my favorite, but this year, I think this blue one is.  It fades so beautifully from dark blue at the base of the petals to the palest of blues at the tips. 

I have to work again tomorrow.  I need to get up and check on my garden in the morning.  If it doesn't rain soon, I'm going to have to do some watering.  Have a great weekend!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

