Photo Quest #60 – The Five Second Rule

Since I'm using a Canon Powershot A540, I had my choice of two night scene settings.  All of these were taken with a tripod with white balance on "auto".

You can't quite see it unless you know where to look, but this shot did pick up the dusk-to-dawn light at our neighbors house.  f-stop:  f/32.  exposure time:  1/10 second.  max aperture:  3.34375

 

It was almost dark when I took these.  I'm amazed at the way they turned out.  Neither one of them are edited at all.  f-stop:  3.2.  exposure time:  1/6 second.  max aperture:  3.34375

 

I've always wanted to be able to take a picture of clouds like this with the setting sun shining on them, but had never been able to.  I did edit this one just a bit to lighten up the foreground.  f-stop:  f/2.6.  exposure time:  1/80 second.  max aperture:  2.75.  I wanted to add a bit more pink to the clouds, but it looked too fake. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Photo Quest #60 – The Five Second Rule

  1. SarahK says:

    love the 2nd one mom – you know more about photography than me now for sure!

  2. Thanks, Sarah! That one is my favorite, too. Wish I knew as much about doing stuff on the computer as you do. Have you thought about designing business cards?

  3. venkat2009 says:

    VerY cute Pictures..Nice Article,Memories..With Photos..Happy To Share With us..I am also Happy To hear this news..I was also Interested in taking Photos in Some Joyfuldays..I was Upload it my website ..I was Bought the Photo Album Service In the site Tucktail.com

  4. County I agree with your daughter I like the second on the best too. It is a much better composition with the foreground taking up the bottom 1/3 of the picture.

  5. Thanks, Maureen! I agree. Having something in the foreground adds depth to the shot.

Leave a Reply

