Sunny Sunday in the country

I took my camera into work this morning, but this was the only photograph of a cake that I was able to take.  We were really busy, and I didn't have time to do any creative work, only orders.  This is one of our more popular designs, although this one turned out better than most of them do.  This one is on a half sheet cake.  It is hard to get all of this on a cake half this size, which most of them are. 

We had a storm come through about 10:00 last night with a lot of wind and lightening.  We ended up with an inch of rain, and much cooler temperatures.  So, when I got home from work today, I went out and started pulling weeds.  I ended up with two big piles.  Some of them had been there for awhile.  Guess it has been so hot that I didn't look long enough to see them.

 

After all the weed pulling, I grabbed the camera while there was still a little bit of sunlight.  I have never taken a shot of the petunias in the wagon from this angle before.  I always shoot toward the house. 

 

Here's one of a single red petunia that the sun was hitting just right.  It is so much easier to get a good steady shot with the tripod.  Then you can just concentrate on getting the lighting and compostion right and don't have to worry about holding the camera still.

 

My four-o-clocks have just started to bloom.  I'll have to come out again tomorrow evening and see if the luna moths have arrived yet.  I never see them until the four-o-clocks bloom.  Do four-o-clocks bloom at night because they need the luna moth to pollenate them?  The stamen are just loaded with yellow pollen.  Why is most pollen yellow?  Does the color attract insects?  It does almost seem to glow. 

I've been up since 5:30, so I think I'll call it a day.  Check back tomorrow for more news from the country!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sunny Sunday in the country

  1. Savannah says:

    Beautiful flowers!

  2. Thanks! I love to take pictures of them.

  3. isn't it nice to be able to get outside now? This storm actually brought some relief

  4. No kidding! Did you have any storm damage? We had a few limbs down, and lost one large tree. At least we didn't get any water in the basement this time. Yeah! I was able to stay out this morning and hoe most of the garden and tie up the tomatoes without having a heat stroke. We ended up with about an inch of rain.

  5. we did not have any down limb, but my friend did and her neighbor had a tree downed.we did loose power for 3-4 hours during the height of the storm, which made the house very humid and steamy and of course with the wind blowing the rain sideways it was not possible to open the windows.

  6. That cake os so cute! Love your flowers so summery!

  7. Thanks! Those funny weird shaped things are harder for me to make than flowers are. I have to work until 8:00 both Thursday and Friday, so I will try again with my camera.

  8. Sorry I'm so late answering your email. I'll check your blog and the Photo Quest for your pictures.

  9. I forgot to take my camera yesterday and today. Both days I did a couple of really stunning cakes that I was proud of. By the time I got to work this morning, all of the cakes I had made for the case yesterday were gone. The first one I put out in the case this morning was gone in half an hour. Sorry you will have to wait awhile longer for more cake photos.

  10. Darn, hope you don't forget your camera next time.

Leave a Reply

