It’s Sunday

We had a wonderful 4th of July despite all the rain, over 4 inches in all.  Lots of good food, and good company.  Went out with my camera this morning to check on my flowers.  They seem to have survived just fine.  This little cricket seemed to be using this day lily as a sort of shelter. 

 

This calendula still had rain drops on it from last night.

 

This bee was busy collecting pollen on this calendula.  They don't all look the same at all.

 

I auto edited this day lily.  It made it a bit more wine colored than it really is. 

 

Auto edit made this pink day lily a little bit lighter.  It was rather cloudy this morning.  I played around a bit with white balance, but I'm still not very good at it. 

 

I still like the contrast of the wine colored petals with the lime green center.  I'm going to have to try to get these colors on a cake.  I tried something new on Friday that turned out great.  I wish I had taken my camera.  On one cake, for a 50th birthday, I made lavender and purple colors on a pale lavender background with purple writing and borders, then oversprayed the whole cake with black.  Then I took a new pearlized spray that we have and sprayed just the roses.  It turned out very stunning.  I made a chocolate iced cake later with roses in shades on pale pink, pale orange, and pale yellow, then sprayed them with the pearlizing spray.  That turned out stunning, too.  We also have a gold and silver spray.  I'm going to have to see what I can do with them. 

 

Usually, I just try to get one flower in a shot, but I like the way these two look with the white yarrow.  I got another rejection for iStock today, so I guess I'd better go see if I can impress them with something else! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Sunday

  1. Karen Lynn says:

    gosh your daylilies are beautiful! you have so many different colors! I had daylilies the first year we were here in this house, but the following spring, I thought they were weeds/grass and pulled them all. haha! now i go to the neighbors for daylily pictures :))

Leave a Reply

