Country By Design place mats

I've done it again.  Completely finished a project, had it laying around for a few days, and don't see my mistake until I take pictures of it!  Makes me wonder if I really see things unless I'm taking pictures of them.  This was supposed to be diagonal rows of dark and light.  I sewed the bottom row on upside down, or something.  I'm not very good at figuring out these kinds of puzzles.  Maybe I sewed the squares together in the wrong order.  Anyway, here is what is is supposed to look like. 

 

They are make completely from vintage denim.  I have a big box of it, so I'm trying to come up with creative ways to use it.  I like this idea.  I just need to do it right! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Country By Design place mats

  1. I like the top one better. I've never been very fond of symmetry at any rate, plus, I think if someone goes to all the wonderous work to make something by hand it should not look like it came out of a factory. Are you going to fix it? woops – I mean 'change' it?

  2. To tell the truth, I like the "mistake" better, too. Maybe 'cause it isn't perfect. No, I'm not going to change it. It's going to have to be good enough the way it is. I might make another set, with one that matches each of these.

  3. I like them all, you are so creative. My mom was a quilter but it takes too much time and skill for me.

  4. That is why is usually stick to small projects with straight seams. Fewer chances for mistakes, but as you can see, I can still make them. What amazes me, is that I can finished a project, iron it, whatever, and have it laying around for several days but not notice the mistake until I take a picture of it. It's like I don't really see things unless it is in a picture.

  5. I think that the picture of your project must link to a part of your brain that seeing the project doesn't. I see my mistakes in a report, memo etc. when I print out the item but not on the monitor. I think that is similar to your experience with the photos. Must be a different area of our brains that sees a photo or a printed text.

  6. Must be. It is weird. You would think I would see it as soon as I get the pieces joined together.

Leave a Reply

