Wednesday in cakes

I took my camera to work with me on Tuesday, but didn't remember to take any pictures.  Didn't really do anything exciting anyway.

On Tuesday, I had a lot of "walk-ups". That is what we call people who wait until the last minute to come in and get a cake. 

This one was for a guy who forgot his girl friend's birthday until her daughter called and reminded him.  He said that she said that her mom like cupcake cakes, so I told him I would make a sunflower.  I think I could have done it better, but I was in a hurry, and I had never done one before, so I was learning on the job.  The center in actually chocolate buttercream frosting.  The picture makes it look darker than it really was.  I didn't do a very good job of making the center round.  I made the petals and leaves with a big leaf tip that I had never used before.  I'm a good one for telling folks I can do something even though I've never tried it before!

 

This was another walk-up.  The green top is air brushed.  There was a plastic figure of George that belongs in the center at the top, but I didn't put him on because he falls over.  This one went together very quickly. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then it was time to work on orders.  This design is in our wedding cake book, but I had never made it before.  The order was for whipped icing, which isn't my favorite, but in this case, it turned out pretty good.  I was happy with it. 

 

I am really proud of this one.  I wish more people would do classic white buttercream icing.  The top of the cake really is as smooth as it looks.  I based the design on a shower cake that had hot pink flowers and garlands with plastic bells and doves.  I like it much better this way.  I love to make roses, but don't always get to.  I feel like I've had a good day when I get to put roses on at least one cake!  After I finished this one, I made several more simple ones to go out into the cake case, but I didn't take any more pictures. 

I had to work again today, but didn't get to do any cakes.  They were short-handed in the donut department.  The donut crew shares space with the bread crew, so they have to come in early to get the donuts done, plus their are people coming in for donuts by 6:00.  We could sell more if we came in earlier, but 5:00 was quite early enough for me.  The girl I was working with came in at 4:00! 

I'm off tomorrow, but have plenty to do.  I go in to work early on Saturday, then I'm going on to my daugher's to baby sit.  Think I'm going to go watch a little TV then toddle off to bed.  No alarm clock in the morning! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wednesday in cakes

  1. Wow, these are awesome. Thanks for taking the time to share the photos!!

  2. Thanks, LOM! I think it helps that I really enjoy what I am doing.

  3. Emjay says:

    These are fabulous! I'm so glad you remembered to take your camera out of the bag to record these.

  4. We have a drawer in the counter where I can slip my camera, especially on days when I'm working by myself. I have to work again tomorrow, but we will be too busy for photos. Glad you enjoyed the photos.

  5. you make wonderful flower-fotos and wonderful cakes-wow you have very talent

  6. I love the wedding cakes

Leave a Reply

