Tuesday’s cakes

Geesh!  I can't believe it has been so long since I have posted anything.  I was working by myself today, but we weren't busy.  I spent the first half of the day going through drawers to see what needed to be ordered.  We had a couple of kits that were discontinued, so I used the ones we had left to make cakes to go out into the cake case.  This is one of them.  Not very creative, but these usually sell well.  It amazes me that so many people just come up and buy whatever we happen to have in the case instead of ordering something special.  Do they think they cost more if they order them? 

 

 

 

 

 

I had a little extra time this afternoon, but I didn't want to get out any more cakes, so I decided to see if I could improve on the sunflower cake design from last week.  Here's my first attempt today.  The nice thing about practice at work is that you still get to put your experiments out in the cake case and sell them!  I think this is an improvement over the one I did last week.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I decided to give it one more try and like this one best.  I used a bowl for a circle marker so I could get the center round.  And I like it being a bit larger.  I like the color combination better in this one, too.  Learn by doing! 

 

Here's a detail of the edge.  I sprayed the cupcake papers with green air brush color and added leaves around the base.  I wonder if I could use a similar technique to make a big mum, or daisy? 

I have to work again tomorrow, so we will see what a new day brings. 

I spent the weekend in the city with some of my grandkids.  I took two of them to the mall on Sunday afternoon.  It was the first time I had been to a major mall in a long time.  Wow!  The parking lot was full.  We had to park a long way away from where we wanted to go.  The one shoe store we went to was packed.  We stopped at another one that didn't have any other customers.  They both sold a lot of the same brands, so what was the difference? 

It was late when I got home on Monday, and I was tired.  Uploaded a couple of photos to iStock, then went to bed.  Still need to do a load of laundry tonight, so I'd best hop to it.  Later!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tuesday’s cakes

  1. Your cakes are so nice looking. We just ordered ours for baby H's birthday. We are doing a construction theme. 🙂 I will have to post a picture.

  2. Amy Sue says:

    Beautiful cakes Country! I'm so impressed, and can see why people would just buy the ones in the case rather than ordering! 🙂 Your photo of the "edge detail" is wonderful! It's so cool that you like your job, the creativity that goes with it and your wonderful talent! 🙂

  3. SarahK says:

    I'm really liking the sunflower cakes mom – would it be too hard to have different colors of brown for the seeds – just a little bit of variation like the petals would make a nice contrast I think.

  4. I think you are right. I probably won't try to mix the colors of brown for the most part, but I will try adding some little touches of different browns in a few places. I put yellow and orange in the same bag for the petals.

  5. Thanks, Amy! I guess you have a point. When you can just walk in at any time and pick something up out of the case, you don't have much incentive to order things in advance. I wish I had more time to make case cakes. I hardly ever have one that doesn't sell. I made a nice chocolate one that sold in a couple of hours this morning.

  6. Please do post a picture. I like getting ideas from other people's work. I did a cute Max and Ruby cake today for a four year old's party.

  7. Thanks! I really enjoy doing it.

Leave a Reply

