Farm Progress Show

Yesterday we got up way too early to leave in time to get to the Farm Progress Show in Decatur, IL by 8:00 am.  There was acres and acres of farm equipment of every shape, color, and size, but I was most impressed by the flowers.  All of the landscaping was temporary. Just pots of flowers set on pavement then surrounded by mulch.  It did reinforce my desire to plant mums this fall.  I didn't get any tonight, but I'm thinking about picking some out during my lunch break tomorrow.  If I wait until I get off work, I will be too tired to care.  This display was just inside the main entrance. 

 

This is one of the more unusual pots of mums that I saw.  I'm going to see if I can buy some of these for my flower bed.  I bought a package of pink tulips tonight, but I think it is too early to plant them.  I think the ground needs to be cool enough that they won't start growing until next spring. 

I had a good day at work today, but I only took one picture.  I made a bunch of cakes using discountinued kits.  We have a big box of them that we need to use.  Plus we have a bunch of kits that are in stock, but that we just don't sell that I would like to move out.  We only have room to carry about 100 different kits at one time.  Hope I have time to play some more tomorrow! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farm Progress Show

  1. Emjay says:

    It's been a long time since I've been to a Farm Expo of any kind – it was nice that they bothered to do some landscaping. I did some weeding today and noticed that the peonies are starting to die down at last. Once they die back totally I will dig up a couple of bulbs for you (I'm pretty sure it was you I promised some to?)…

  2. Yes it was. And I will dig up some iris for you!
    The Farm Expo was the 180 degree opposite of the parade that you went to. It was like being in a different world. No smoking, for the most part. Conservative clothing. No earrings or tatoos. I didn't realize that I had come to look at the Wal-Mart crowd as normal. There were also very few overweight people. Of course, those folks aren't going to come to an event where you have to walk over 80 acres just to see farm equipment! And there were very few people of color. The patrons at our Wal-Mart include a lot of different nationalities, mostly from Latin American, but a far number of Asians and Indians from India. I do occasional see native Americans, too. Who would expect a cultural melting pot out in the middle of nowhere.

Leave a Reply

