Cake pictures from Saturday

We were busy on Saturday, but not swamped, so I had time to take some pictures.  This is a big full size sheet cake that I decorated.  This is what it looked like with the base icing, the light pink air brush spray, and the writing. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is the finished cake.  They wanted pink, yellow, and green flowers. 

 

Here are some close ups of the floral details. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The customer who had ordered the full size sheet cake had also ordered a 1/4 sheet cake to match. 

 

I had another order for a pretty cake with flowers, so I was able to use the same basic theme on three cakes.  This one was sprinkled with clear edible glitter. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cake pictures from Saturday

  1. Waterbaby says:

    did you do the roses?

  2. Waterbaby says:

    p.s. just noticed that this post/batch of pics appears three times.

  3. Waterbaby says:

    correction – looks like the post repeats nine times.

  4. Yes, I did the roses. I can do one in about 30 seconds. I really like to make roses and rose buds, but sometimes they have more impact if you mix in a few other flowers.

  5. OMG! I created a monster! I wonder how I managed to do that? I think I have it under control now. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

  6. Waterbaby says:

    nice. never mastered roses myself but then again had no need for them on my cakes (all originals) either. lol – yes, a monster posting it was!

  7. Do you have pictures? I like to see what other people are doing with cakes. We are limited to sheet cakes just like they come out of the freezer. We can't change their shape. It has to do with packaging and labeling.

  8. Waterbaby says:

    I have photos, yes, but they're in another state and besides they're film, not digital, so there's no way to post them so it's all moot anyhow. šŸ™‚ My cakes are homemade originals for events, parties, sometimes simple dinners and believe you me, you wouldn't want to duplicate them, they're unconventional and unconventional does not go over well at a Walmart bakery – lol.

  9. LBeeeze says:

    Very pretty. Those sparkles really dress it up.

  10. Yes they do. I always add them when a cake just doesn't have enough punch.

  11. You are right. We get request for some weird stuff, like private body parts, which of course we can't do. We can refuse to do anything we think is not appropiate for a family-friendly store.

  12. Waterbaby says:

    oh, I'm sure! But I didn't mean it like that! … only that my cake creations were outside the box and very rare is the management that likes original thinkers and do-ers.

  13. We are allowed some latitude. Most of the cakes that I make that don't have kits are my own creations. We just can't be creative with the shape of the cake.

Leave a Reply

