Wednesday’s cakes

We decided that we needed some cupcake cakes to go out in our cake case today.  I did have a picture to go from for this one, but I made it a bit different.  I like my version better. 

 

I'm trying to put together a folder with designs that we can do that don't require kits, since they add $5 to the cost of a cake.  We call this design "Paint Balls".  I like to do them because each one is different.  Some of them get pretty weird.  For Halloween, I do a lot of them with just black or purple for a color. 

 

Here's "Tie Dye".  It works with a lot of different colors, although I like this combination best.  It doesn't work as well with whipped icing as it does with buttercream. 

 

I did this one just to use some blue icing that was out.  It took about 10 minutes, start to finish.  I'll be back at it again tomorrow.  May be too busy for pictures, but I'll try. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wednesday’s cakes

  1. Waterbaby says:

    wowee, really like that first one! (though bye-bye when a cupcake's removed, eh? 😦 ) Tie Dye's like sumthin' ya normally see on chests and backs, not a dessert plate – lol. Fun to see this work!

  2. SweetMisery says:

    The purple is my favorite. This is awesome

  3. Flowers says:

    Wow….These cakes looks wonderful. I am salivating and can harldy wait to try them. Beth iFlorist.co.uk

  4. Thanks! It is fun to do, too. With the tie dye and the paint balls, you never know exactly what you are going to end up with.

  5. Thanks! It is eye candy. My thought is if it doesn't look good, no one is going to buy it.

  6. Thanks! It is amazing what you can do with a little air brush spray and icing.

  7. Emjay says:

    It seems that your talent is never ending when it comes to cake decorating! Love the bug cupcakes!

  8. Thanks, Emjay! It's one of the areas where you have to keep getting better and keep coming up with new ideas. I like the challenge of thinking up new designs.

Leave a Reply

