Friday in the country

I had to take some more photos of my petunias.  These are in a hanging basket on my back porch.  They look so much more dramatic with the watercolor filter applied. 

 

The pink one in the birdbath still looks pretty good, too, especially when edited to look like a watercolor painting. 

 

The wagon out in front of the house is suffering from serious neglect, but I rather like the wild look.  All the vines, etc. have come up as volunteers. 

 

You can tell by the walnut tree that summer is almost over.  Most of the leaves have fallen off already and the nuts are starting to fall.  This tree, in our yard, is loaded with nuts this year.  Plenty of food for the squirrels.  The nuts should be really good, too, since we had plenty of rain. 

 

It was late this evening when I went outside with my camera.  The sun was already getting low in the sky.  Our sycamore trees had a lot of these seed pods on them this year.  They are really weird looking. 

I made chicken enchiladas for dinner tonight.  Yum, yum.  It is one of my favorite chicken dishes.  We still have some fresh green beans from our pole beans, and a few tomatoes.  I ate an apple for dessert, but it wasn't as good as I expected.  I've got to remember to look for some locally grown fresh apples from this season.  We should have planted an apple tree a long time ago, but we didn't want to have to spray it, etc. Have to see what I can find at the store. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday in the country

  1. LBeeeze says:

    I've seen the squirrels running around with big nuts and digging holes to stash them. It's so hard to believe it's already that time of year.

  2. I know! Summer really went fast this year. This was the first summer that I have worked in fifteen years or so, so I'm sure that is one reason why it went so fast.
    I won't have to worry about the squirrels collecting our walnuts, although it would be nice if they would carry them out of the yard. Our three dogs make sure no other living animal comes into our yard.

  3. Emjay says:

    Beautiful photos – I love your wagon – you had wonderful shots of it last year too. Today it was so lovely here it's difficult to believe autumn is here – there are no colours on the leaves yet though…..

  4. Thanks! I went out yesterday and pulled most of the weeds and dead flowers out of the wagon. Now I need to get some mums to go in it. We are just beginning to see some color in the trees.

  5. Flowers says:

    You have posted wonderful picture of flowers that is appreciated. Keep it up the good work. cheers 🙂 iFlorist.co.uk

  6. Thank you, Flowers. Is fall coming to the UK, too?

Leave a Reply

