I have a dahlia!

The dahlias that I planted in the spring have had a tough life this summer.  The dogs kept running through them and breaking them off.  I noticed a week or so ago that they were finally getting some buds on them, then I kind of forgot about them.  For some reason, I happened to look out the window this evening and wondered what the spot of color was at the edge of the flower bed, so I grabbed my camera and went out to investigate.  It was the best surprise that I have ever gotten!  A huge beautiful dahlia bloom.  It is laying on the ground because I didn't stake it.  Hope it survives long enough for me to get a few more pictures. 

I tryed a new recipe for dinner tonight.  Wish I had remember to take a picture.  I made rosemary roasted chicken with onions.  Yummmmmm!  I also fixed fresh broccoli and cauliflower with an onion cream sauce, and boiled potatoes. 

After dinner, I went out to plant some tulips.  Rather than just stick them in wherever, I took the potato fork and dug up everything in a three by four foot area.  I got a bucket full of mostly iris.  I planted all the tulips in one big group.  Hope they come up.  The dogs had to help me plant them.  I hope they don't decide to dig them all up! 

Then I went downstairs and finished the top I was working on for my granddaughter, and cut out another one.  Got the yoke stitched together, and the front gathered and stitched.  Hope I can finish it tomorrow.  I feel like I was pretty productive today.  Not having to deal with allergies all day really helps.  Here's to a great weekend! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I have a dahlia!

  1. Waterbaby says:

    That dinner sounds delish! I'm a little disappointed in my bouquet of dahlias from the farmer's market. Two days ago they were hearty, gorgeous and upright and already some have bent and aren't lookin' too good. Maybe they don't last long as cut flowers?

  2. They should last a week after cutting, but I think you have to change the water every day.

  3. Amy Sue says:

    I planted dahlias for the first time last spring also. Aren't they beautiful! Glad yours made a bloom so you could enjoy! I'm excited to see how they do next year. I'm so new at perrineals! 🙂

  4. Waterbaby says:

    a week, wowee! i'lll be lucky if they last 5 days! have already lost half in just 3 days.

  5. I'm sure that is under optimal conditions, i.e., you pick they out of your own garden and get them in water right away.

  6. I read that you are supposed to dig them up after they die down in keep them in a dry place at 40 degrees all winter. Think I'll just put a lot of mulch on mine and see what happens. it would probably croak if I dug it up, so I might as well let it croak right where it is!

  7. Waterbaby says:

    I've since read online that some dahlia varieties peter out very quickly; perhaps I'll just stick to carnations – lol.

  8. I'm sure carnations and daisies will last much longer.

  9. Emjay says:

    What a gorgeous dahlia! Beautiful colour. Your dinner sounds good too!

  10. Thanks! The dahlia is still very pretty. I'm going to try to get some more shots this evening.

Leave a Reply

