No more dahlias!

I just about wore those poor dahlias out, didn't I?  No more flowers today.  I left for work at 6:15 this morning and didn't get home until 7:45 tonight.  We were BUSY!  I don't know what it is about this time of year that makes everyone want to eat cake.  I don't have any idea how many cakes I made today.  I quit trying to keep track after the second or third one!  I did get a couple of pictures, so bear with me.  If you aren't into cake decorating, you can just skip over the rest of this blog!

 

There really isn't anything special about this cake, but the black does make a nice contrast for the lime green. 

 

I took this picture to add to our design book.  We call this technique "strings".  It reminds me of Silly String. 

I added some blue sprinkles, too. 

I've got another picture, but I'm not sure what happened to it.  I'll post it if I can find it.

 

It somehow got saved to a file for yesterday, even though I took it today.  I must have the am/pm setting wrong on my camera. 

I'm really proud of the colors on this cake.  The top is airbrushed with yellow, orange, gold, brown, and neon green.  The icing and the borders and the writing are all done in whipped icing.  It took me a long time to get the border/writing color the way I wanted it.  I used liquid gel colors.  I used buttercream in stock colors for the vines and the leaves.  You just can't get the nice shape and sharp edges on leaves with whipped the way you can with buttercream. 

I had planned to watch a little college football on TV tonight, but I turned on the set in the living room, found the right station, then picked up the wrong remote to change the volume.  I never could get it to work, so I finally gave up!  I am definately technology challenged.  I never did learn how to program a VCR.  Oh, well. I think I will survive.  LOL

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No more dahlias!

  1. Emjay says:

    LOL – you got a lot of use from the dahlia! I love lime and black combinations. When I was a teenager I had wallpaper in my bedroom that was mostly lime and black with some purple thrown in! Sounds horrible now but it was pretty snazzy! 🙂

  2. That lime green, hot pink, and purple combination is popular again now. At first I didn't like using black on anything, but it is growing on me.

Leave a Reply

