Cakes, cakes, and more cakes

I worked by myself today, and only had two orders, so I got to play the rest of the day.  I made a few more cupcakes, and a case of cookies, then I finished decorating a rack of cakes that were already iced.  I decided to do some experimenting with new ideas that I hadn't tried yet.  See what you think. 

 

This isn't a new design, but I realized today that I didn't have a picture of one of these in our idea book.  This has turned into my "signature" cake.  Each of us has a design that we like to do that can be adapted with different colors, etc., looks good in the case, doesn't take too long to make, and sell really well.  This one fits the bill perfectly.  We sold 5 or 6 of them on Saturday.  I call it Sprinkles and Strings. 

 

I have been thinking about this design all week, but hadn't had a chance to try it until today.  The little spider is part of our Halloween cupcake decorations.  I'll probably try a few more variations before I get one that I really like. 

 

I really like doing paintball designs with one color for Halloween.  I also like the fact that each one is different, and that you don't have any idea when you start what the finished design is going to look like.  I like the way these two creatures look like they are fighting with each other while being joined together. 

 

Here's the same basic design as the first cake, the blue one, but done up in fall/Halloween colors.  The nice thing about this one is that it will work up through Thanksgiving. 

 

This is my most creative one today, even though it doesn't involve a lot of icing details.  It is made almost entirely from cupcake decorations.  I started with a cake with chocolate icing so I could get a really black background.  Black air brushed onto white icing always looks a little grey.  I used a volleyball for the moon and a fence that we stock for whatever for the cat to sit on.  I made fluffy icing clouds for the bats and put little tuffs of grass around the pumpkins.  The nicest thing about it is that it is easy enough that anyone on the staff will be able to make it from a picture.  We'll have to see if we get any orders! 

Cloudy and rainy again today, and rather cool.  Another good day to be working at a nice inside job with lots of good artifical light.  I always thought that I couldn't work if I couldn't see out, but now I can walk in in the morning and not have a clue about what is going on outside until I leave 9 or 10 hours later.  I need bright light to feel good, but it doesn't have to be natural light.

My hubby isn't home tonight, so I need to go throw a couple more logs on the fire and get to bed. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cakes, cakes, and more cakes

  1. LBeeeze says:

    Those Halloween cakes are great!! So much fun!

  2. I love your signature cake especially the blue one. It reminded me of the ocean for some reason.

  3. They are fun. I didn't get to do any today. Too many orders.

  4. Thanks! The chocolate one sold just a few minutes after I put it out in the case this morning.

  5. Trailblazer says:

    I like the paintball one – sort of like a Rorschach test. Yumm . . . just when I thought I was going on a chocolate-free diet.

  6. Ah! It is. I knew it looked sort of like something I had seen before. LOL You can't have any of my chocolate. All of these cakes are already sold. They don't last 24 hours out in the cake case. My Halloween cupcakes are flying off the shelf, too. There are only a few of them left.

Leave a Reply

