It’s fall!

This is the only fall color I have in my yard.  This bush is about 30 years old, but we give it "haircuts" every year or two to keep it from growing too big. 

 

Off to the west of our house, there is a creek with bluffs that get some color in the trees.  They are mostly hardwoods, a lot of oaks, so they don't have the brilliant colors that softwoods do.  In this shot, the sun was peaking through the clouds in just the right place to highlight the trees. 

 

Even though we have had some cold weather, down to 28 on Sunday morning, I still have a few petunias hanging on.  Of course I had to edit this one.  I just love the watercolor effect.  I intensified the color, too. 

The dogs are off for a walk, so I'm going to sneak outside and see if I can find anything to take pictures of and/or dig up in the flower bed.  I know I had a couple of plants that I meant to bring in.  It may be too late! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s fall!

  1. LBeeeze says:

    The clouds are so puffy in that first pic. The fall colors are finally starting to come out on the trees that didn't just suddenly drop all their leave. I don't know why that happened….so many trees around here lost their leaves before their leaves turned. Remember how beautiful last fall was??? It was amazing.

  2. I hope the sun is shining on Sunday so we can see some pretty trees on the way to Defiance.

  3. LBeeeze says:

    Me too!! I really love the sunshine. I know we need the rain too, but I hate it when it's gloomy for days on end.

  4. Me, too. It's not too bad on days that I work, 'cause I can't see out from where I work.

  5. LBeeeze says:

    I just heard on the news tonight that we have had the wettest October on record and the third coldest. Blaaaaaaaah!!!

  6. Trailblazer says:

    Ah, I have Fall envy . . . . it's just another day in paradise here in CA, we did have some major fog at night . . . but still no rain and only rusty colored leaves left on the few trees, other than palms, which I am not a fan of . .. enjoy

  7. Thanks! Hope I can get some good fall pictures tomorrow.

  8. I believe it! Our lake is fuller than it has ever been in October. I'm hoping for one more nice day tomorrow.

  9. LBeeeze says:

    Me too. Saturday was glorious!!

  10. It was a little bit wet on Sunday but we had a good time. Not too many photos, but I did take one of three sheep that is cute. I'll try to get it posted soon.

  11. Flowers says:

    Your second pic look amazing and the watercolor effect looks awesome. It is so bright and cheerful! Enjoyed it very much. iFlorist.co.uk

  12. Thanks! Today it is bright and sunny and above 60 degrees. Perfect!

Leave a Reply

