Another cake

I worked by myself on Monday and Tuesday of this week, but didn't have time to be very creative.  I did do this cake, which I was rather proud of. 

I'm finally digging out from under the pile of paperwork that has accumulated on my desk.  I still have a way to go, but at least it is all on my desk now and not spilling over onto the floor.  I think I have most of the bills paid.  Still need to check my bank balances.  I had received an Etsy order back in October, but didn't have time to get it shipped until today.  I was totally out of practice.  I hadn't received any orders in some time.  I've been too busy to make any new things and get them listed.  I'm still working on dresses for my granddaughter.

I'm also sending a lot more time fixing food than I usually do.  I haven't found much good information on the web about soft food diets, but I did find a good site today about making homemade baby food.  I've been afraid to try anything with meat in it.  I'm going to give it a try today and see how it goes.  My handheld blender has been a big help.  I'm going to try to add a little ham to some navy bean soup.  I'll keep you posted.  Thanks for all your prayers.  If you think of any good ideas for soft food, let me know.  If we can keep body and soul together without surgery, that is the way we are leaning now.  He will still have a test on Monday, and a consult with his doctor on Wednesday. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another cake

  1. Soups were my first shot. Then mashed potatoes, gravy, pudding, and jello. Since then I've tried pumpkin pie, cranberry sauce, and blueberry applesauce. The applesauce is so good that I will continue to make it forever. I tried meatloaf and mashed sweet potatoes tonight, and so far so good. Thank goodness for my food processer and handheld blender. Glad you liked the cake.

  2. LBeeeze says:

    That's a lot of variety. You've already been doing lots of thinking.

  3. Having a basic background in nutrition and an interest in cooking is a plus. I thought there would be lots of info about soft food diets online, but I didn't find much. My next challenge is going to be figuring out how to cook/tenderize meat enough that he can eat it. He doesn't seem to mind the "baby food" appearance. I'll do without first!

  4. LBeeeze says:

    He must be a brave soul!

  5. He always did mush all of his food up together. I'm more of the "don't let things touch" type. The meatloaf didn't work out too well. He had a few issues last night, so I guess it's back to soups and puddings, etc. He had Carnation instant breakfast with half of a banana for breakfast, so that was pretty balanced. I may have to get some of the protein powder stuff.

Leave a Reply

