Cakes and sunsets

I took time to make a cake this morning using one of the new kits we received yesterday.  This is one of the kits for Princess Tiana.  Our store is in a culturally diverse area, so it will be interesting to see how well these kits sell. 

 

I usually try to avoid doing cakes in whipped icing, especially chocolate whipped.  This order called for lots of flowers.  I didn't leave too much open space!

 

Here's a close-up of the border of flowers. 

I thought we had most of the Friday cakes done when I went home yesterday, but I spent most of the day today working on cakes for today.  I only had time to make two cakes for tomorrow.  We really needed a third person doing cakes today. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I left work an hour early today because I had already worked four days this week.  I got home before the sun went down for the first time in ages! 

I made homemade chicken noodle soup for dinner.  I hit hubby's with the blender.  Worked great.  Much healthier than the creamy soups I have been making.  This whole soft food diet is going to take some getting used to. 

I go to work late tomorrow and Sunday.  I'll have to try to get something else made before I leave in the morning.  I baked a custard pie tonight while the soup was cooking. 

We will have lots of deer hunters here tomorrow.  May not be able to get to the computer! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cakes and sunsets

  1. LBeeeze says:

    Homemade chicken soup sounds good. I don't think there's any deer hunting allowed anywhere near here, but I think the deer will be milling around and running the streets just to play it safe.

  2. Emjay says:

    What a lovely sky! I really dislike this time of year when I leave for work in the dark and get home in the dark.

  3. Simple says:

    Your blog is very happy. It gives a happiness feeling..

  4. Do they allow deer hunting out at Busch wildlife? My daughter sees more deer in her backyard than I do out here in the country! She lives just off Vance in Valley Park.

  5. I know the feeling. Like right now. It is just barely getting light when I leave for work, and it is already dark by the time I get home. I only got the photo on Friday because I left work an hour early.

  6. Thanks! It makes me happy to read my neighbor's blogs, too. It's like getting the good news for the day.

  7. LBeeeze says:

    I don't live all that far from Castlewood State Park. There are deer all over the place here.

  8. Then you don't live too far from my daughter. They used to take Lady to Castlewood to run and swim.

Leave a Reply

