Creamy turkey and noodles

CREAMY TURKEY AND NOODLES

1 large onion, chopped

3 celery ribs, sliced

1 cup baby carrots, sliced

6 tbsp butter

6 tbsp flour

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp garlic salt

1/2 tsp each dried thyme and parsley flakes

2 cups milk

4 cups cubed cooked turkey

4 cups turkey broth

1 cup frozen peas

4 oz dry egg noodles

In a large saucepan, saute onion, celery, and carrots in butter until tender, about 10 minutes.  Stir in flour and seasonings.  Gradually add milk.  Bring to boil and cook and stir for 2 minutes, or until thinkened.  Add turkey and noodles.  Add broth.  Stir.  Cover and simmer for 10 minutes.  Add peas and continue heating until noodles and vegetables are tender. 

Adapted from recipe found at www.tasteofhome.com

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Creamy turkey and noodles

  1. Amy Sue says:

    Looks fabulous! All of your recipes look good…I'm going to copy a few, OK? πŸ™‚

  2. This one is very good. Next time, I may not put in quite as much turkey, or add more milk or broth. It is a bit on the thick side. I think you will like it.

  3. I would be honored. I only post the ones that turn out really good that I think others will enjoy. Let me know how they turn out. Have you gotten snow yet? We had a few rainy flurries last evening.

  4. Amy Sue says:

    I'm thinking I'll try the potato soup recipe this weekend. πŸ™‚ I'll let you know how it goes. We have had a light snow already. It was 5 degrees when I took the kids to school this morning. Brrr! I hope it snows more…nothing like a white Christmas! How is your husband doing?

  5. We had just a few flurries again this morning. I'm ready for a real snow. It was in the 20s here this morning. I would like a white Christmas, too. Perhaps it could wait just a wee bit longer. There are still some crops out in the fields.
    Hubby is getting along pretty good, all things considering. He is going back to the hospital on the 15th for a Botox treatment. It may not help, but at least it won't hurt anything. And he had already met his insurance deductable, so now is the time to try it.

  6. Amy Sue says:

    I'm glad he's doing well. So…Crops still left in the field?! What kind? πŸ™‚

  7. Our renter had gotten his beans out before the last rain, but he wasn't finished with his corn. It was 18 degrees this morning, and the ground was set up, so he was able to get finished. Hubby is happy and I'm sure our renter is, too.
    Did you make soup tonight? I made some when I got home even though everyone had already eaten. It will taste good tomorrow when I'm at work.
    .

  8. Amy Sue says:

    It is amazing that crops can still be harvested this late in the year! Boy, I wish we had that long of a growing season. πŸ™‚
    I'm making the potato soup today. It's -17 windchill outside, so I'm thinking it will be just right for the occasion! I'll let you know how it turns out. Thanks again for the recipe.

  9. Brrrrr! I'm not sure I could get used to it being that cold. We had a dusting of snow this morning, but it's all gone now.
    I made turkey al la king for lunch today. Yum! I ate mine with rice.

Leave a Reply

