As seen at Walmart

Have all of you seen the photos on the web of "Walmart" people?  They are unbelievable!  It is hard to believe that people go out in public looking like that.  We always have a few who are underdressed, but we have just about as many who are "yesterday" dressed. 

This woman is a regular.  She must come in every week just after she gets her hair "done".  Do they still teach this style at beauty school?  She usually has the head scarf, too, to keep it in place, very high and piled on top of her head.  We do have a set of regulars who are lost in the 50's.  I'll try to get some more photos.  Do these ladies exist in every town or just here?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We are being discouraged from making up our own designs for cakes, and encouarged to use the Walmart style book.  They do have some nice designs, and it won't hurt us to try to make some of them.  This isn't exactly like the book.  To me, cake designs are a lot like recipes.  You use them for a general outline, but you add your own touch. 

I worked by myself again today, so I didn't get a lot done.  But we weren't rushed, so it didn't matter.  I was going to try to leave an hour early to make sure that I don't work over 40 hours this week.  That is greatly discouraged.  But I took a last minute order, so I only got out the door about 15 minutes early.

I also had to "remodel" a couple of cakes that didn't get picked up so they could be served at the company Christmas dinner tomorrow.  We always joke that the true test of a decorator is if you can take an orphan cake and transform it so it can be reused or put out in the case.  Most of the time I can come up with something.  We did have to throw one cake away today.  Cakes don't sell well on the mark-down rack, and they take up a lot of room. 

It was bitterly cold today, but we didn't get very much snow.  Some people were talking about slick roads, but I didn't have any trouble.

I am finally finished with my Christmas shopping.  I think I spent at least four hours trying to get the last two magazine subscriptions figured out.  First I tried to go through the publisher, but they kept telling me my address was wrong, or I hadn't selected a country.  I finally gave up and filled out a paper subscription form, only I couldn't find the envelope, and the address was no where on the form.  Ugh!  Then I tried Amazon.  They had both magazines, but since I wanted to send each one to a different child, I had to do the whole process twice!  I could enter one alternative address, but not two.  If I had wanted to send the same magazine to 7 different kids, I could have done that, but I couldn't send two different magazines to two different children.  Mercy!  I may have to pick up a few stocking stuffers, but candy or craft supplies will work in that department.  I haven't started on my cards, but I don't mind waiting until the last minute to do that.  I did check my schedule for that week tonight.  I work until 6:00 pm Christmas Eve.  I think I may wait until Christmas Day to put up my decorations.  I'm going to be home all day, with no company.  It will give me something to do. 

I warmed up some leftover potato soup and added some shredded cheddar cheese tonight.  I also fixed a bunch of fresh broccoli with a cheese sauce.  And we had homemade cheesecake that I had fixed yesterday.  I ate mine with a bit of cranberry sauce.  Yummm!   It really hit the spot.  The wind is still screaming around the house. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to As seen at Walmart

  1. LBeeeze says:

    OMGosh that piled-on stiff helmet hair!! I imagine that the ladies who get their hair done like that feel good about it, and that's just fine. : – )

  2. Emjay says:

    LOL – I saw some of that really big hair the other night at my son's wedding. I think for some people it will never go out of style.

  3. Karen says:

    There's a Walmart in my area that I swear no one under 200 lbs is allowed in. It is the largest gathering of obese people I've ever seen. Whenever I'm feeling fat (which is quite often), I can go shop there and feel like a stick. Comparatively. btw, Country, did you see my post on "writing your own story"? That was for you, but I never saw any comments so I wasn't sure if you saw it.

  4. I know the feeling! Out in the normal world, I feel rather fat, but at Walmart, I feel very skinny. It's probably a bad thing, 'cause it doesn't make me want to work to lose weight.
    Sorry, I did see your post on writing. Sometimes my computer won't let me reply to messages from my hotmail site. I always think I'm going to log on to Vox, and do it from there, but sometimes I don't get around to it.
    I do agree that I need to decide who I am, to have a voice. I may have to write and rewrite for awhile to figure that out. If you are telling your own story, can you leave things out, or do you have to put it all in, warts and all?

  5. I guess so. It's just like they got to a certain age/style and have never changed a bit. Do you think it is because they were really happy then, or really comfortable? It certainly isn't because it is easy to maintain. I don't see how they can sleep!

  6. I guess I should thank my lucky stars that they care enough about how they look to go through all the pain and aggravation every week. We certainly see enough examples of hair styles that are the result of doing absolutely nothing for long periods of time. No style. Bad color. Way too long to look good.

  7. Karen says:

    I think you should put in what you're comfortable with.

  8. Does it ever work to write in the third person as if it were fiction, but make it mostly autobiographical?

  9. Trailblazer says:

    I confess, I am a WalMart shopper. What bugs me most is the employees who DON"T speak English. I even had a checker whose only words in English were, "have a nice day." One woman in the sewing department kept nodding her head and smiling at every question I had . . . then I realized she didn't understand a word I sad, and she was running the department at the moment!

  10. I'm sure that is a problem. As far as I know, we only have two or three employees who may not have English as their first language. We do have some customers who don't speak English. Fortunately, they usually bring someone along who does. I only know about three words of Spanish. Wish I had learned more when I had the chance.

  11. Hmm I don't see any high hair ladies here in Tucson and the WalMart shoppers aren't in too bad of shape…but I'm a WalMart shopper so maybe I just don't see it.

  12. I need to remember to take my camera to work with me now just to do my own "As seen at Walmart". I think I should do hats next. Now is a good season to capture a lot of head coverings.

  13. Cool, I can hardly wait to see the photos!

  14. Ok, will do…send me a reminder if you post more photos!

  15. I keep forgetting to take my camera with me. I can't believe we are still so busy! I thought things would slow down after Christmas. I'll send you a heads up if I get some good shots.

Leave a Reply

