Christmas poinsettia

Here's my poinsettia from Wal-Mart.  It seems to like this sunny window location.  It only gets this full sun treatment for a short period of time each morning.  And it is proof that we had a mostly sunny day today, and a high temperature of about 50.  I should have taken my camera and gone outside, but I was busy with indoor stuff today.  Cooking, cleaning, laundry, bills, wrapping, mailing, etc.  I even got my dental insurance issues resolved and made a dentist appointment.  Yeah!  If you walked in the door, you might wonder if I had accomplished anything, but I feel pretty good.  I even cleared most of the clutter off my desk. 

I am supposed to be off again tomorrow, but I am going in so I can take off on Saturday.  My hubby continues to eat well.  I cooked a lot of different things today:  blueberry applesauce, brown rice, creamed tuna with peas, cheesecake, mashed cauliflower, cranberry sauce, stuffing, and turkey pot pie.  I made extra sauce for the pot pie so it wouldn't be so dry.  Then I combined the pot pie, some stuffing, and some leftover cream gravy from last night, and blended it until it looked like baby food.  I alway lick off the blender attachment to taste the "meal" my hubby will be eating.  It's not that bad.  There are some things that I've learned to like better when they are blended than the way I used to make them.  I rarely have issues with heartburn or indigestion anymore, so perhaps this soft food diet is a good thing for me, too. 

I did get started wrapping presents today.  I finally got the one wrapped that has to be sent to Texas, but with priority shipping, they should get it in about 3 days.  Priority mail postage printed on the computer was cheaper than parcel post from the post office. 

Still no decorations or tree.  And no cards yet either.  I need to do the cards first.  Tomorrow! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas poinsettia

  1. Emjay says:

    I have started to wonder if the Post Office really wants to be in business. Your poinsettia looks lovely. I used to take one of the ones from the office home each year after New Year – I had to take a new one every year because they always died.

  2. Karen says:

    Do you keep your poinsettas as houseplants? I have one that is about 4 feet tall that I've repotted a couple times. Only the leaves don't turn red because I clearly don't know the rules. Something about leaving it in the dark several hours a day for some time up to Christmas. I don't know, but it makes a nice leggy house plant.

  3. I am usually successful at killing them by Valentine's Day. I got a beautiful one last year that didn't even make it til Christmas Day!

  4. I have usually killed mine by Valentine's Day. I have decided to just enjoy them while they are pretty, and get another one the next year.

Leave a Reply

