Christmas cactus and other odds and ends

Okay.  Here's the test.  This shot was taken this morning with my new camera.  No editing except format to make it smaller.  The top of the shot isn't too bad, but the bottom is all fuzzy. 

 

Exact same shot with my old camera.  Bottom of shot still isn't very good.  Hmmm. 

We woke up to a couple more inches of snow this morning.  We left early for our errands for the day so we wouldn't have to drive fast.  First 10 miles of road had be bladed, but still had a lot of snow and was slick.  Next 5 miles was mostly just wet and sloppy, but I could drive the speed limit.  Interstate was just wet in places, but I still had to use my wipers when someone went around me.  Thank goodness I had enough washer fluid. 

My hubby had a doctor's appointment this morning, so that was our first stop.  Doc wanted him to get some tests, so we spent some times trying to get that figured out so he could still get the tests done today, and I could get to my dentist appointment.  He ended up leaving me at the dentist getting two crown preps while he went to get his tests.  It was after dark before we got home.  Long day!

We ate leftovers for supper.  I had a raging headache and my teeth hurt.  Three Advil helped a lot.  I went downstairs and finished the dress I have been working on forever, and even finished the binding on a place mat that was leftover from a long time ago.

 

Here's the dress that has taken so long.  It has the same pleating detail in the back as well.  I don't think I will volunteer to make another dress from this pattern any time soon. 

 

I was just fooling around with my camera this morning before we left.  Thought this was an interesting shot. 

 

Out of focus lights on the tree.

 

And last but not least, a gingerbread man.

Happy New Year to everyone out there in my Vox neighbor.  Have a safe, sane celebration tomorrow, and a wonderful first day of the brand new year.  Cheers!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Christmas cactus and other odds and ends

  1. LBeeeze says:

    I think the shot with the new camera looks better.

  2. Art and Tea says:

    Fun to experiment with a new camera. You will soon learn it's quirks:) that shot of the drain looks like an eyeball! Have a Happy and Healthy 2010!

  3. On the plant photos, I find the second picture to be superior in quality. Did you say it was taken by your old camera. Oh dear, not what you want to hear then, probably.

  4. I have another though on the camera issue. Check out the focus on your new camera…maybe you don't have the focus right.

  5. Waterbaby says:

    Happy New Year to you too!

  6. Emjay says:

    Have you eaten that little Gingerbread man yet? 🙂 I hope that you sort out the focus issues with your camera. All the very best for a very Happy New Year to you and your family.

  7. The gingerbread man is one of my favorites, too. I seem to do best with accidental photography. LOL

  8. It does look like an eyeball! That is amazing. I hadn't seen that yet. Thanks!

  9. That is one of the reasons I enjoy photography so much. I really like the creative ways you can look at things, like the drain. Art and Tea thinks it looks like an eyeball! This is the very first time I have ever tried taking creative photos of the Christmas tree. I'm still not sure what the deal is with the cameras. It may be that I just need to learn which one to use in certain situations. I'm sure they both have there best use situations. I'm going to another parry tomorrow. I'm going to take both of them again and do some experimenting.

  10. Both of the cactus photos this morning were taken in auto mode. I need to try using my tripod to see if it is operator error!

  11. Ha, yes the tripod would eliminate any shaking.

  12. Actually, he wouldn't be very good to eat. I keep him because my mom made him out of plastic canvas after she had her stroke.

  13. I may try getting out the tripod in the morning just to see if I can get one really good shot. It's becoming an obsession!

  14. LBeeeze says:

    For real, sometimes the shots that don't come out all crisp and clear are the best. The Gingerbread Man is a real winner!!!

  15. Thanks! I like it, too. Much more interesting than a straight on in focus shot.

Leave a Reply

