My mother by candlelight

My mother by candlelight.  I lit a candle this afternoon while I was working on the computer.  Tonight while I was watching the Orange Bowl game, I remember that the candle was still burning.  So it was back up the ladder to the loft, but before I blew it out, I took a few pictures.  My mother was born in 1916.  I think this was either her high school or her college graduation photo.  It isn't dated.  Either way, it has a few years on it. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My mother by candlelight

  1. LBeeeze says:

    I don't know why, but it's so hard to tell the age of young people in those old family photos. They always look so mature for their age. Even the children look like miniature adults. Maybe because their lives were harder, so they grew up faster.

  2. your mother looks on the photo so gentle and the candle make a very warm light-I like it very much. Have a nice day….at the weekend we became in germany lots of snow…brrrr..

  3. Usually the clothes and the expressions are so severe. The hairstyle might be a dead give-away, but I'm not up on styles of the 30's.

  4. Thank you for the kind comments about my mother. Like a lot of my photography, it was an accident.
    We are getting about an inch of snow an hour. It will be nice and white by morning.

  5. LBeeeze says:

    Maybe that's it….the people are often dressed in very stiff clothes that had to very uncomfortable.

  6. Photographs were rather rare once upon a time. Perhaps folks were somewhat afraid of them.

Leave a Reply

