Baby hooded bath towel

I had put dinner in the crock pot this morning, so this afternoon I had time to do some sewing.  My hubby's sister makes these hooded bath towels as baby shower gifts.  My daughter-in-law ask me to make one for her little one who will be one this month. 

I called B and ask for directions and I thought I understood what she meant, but now I'm not sure.  At any rate, I bought some less expensive towels the other day so I could practice before I cut into the big towels I bought for the gift.  This is what I came up with today.  I made another one with a print cuff on the hood, but I want to put some blue rick rack down the front edges like I did on this one. 

I had planned to watch the football game tonight, but I got discouraged and gave up early.  I wanted to watch a knock-down, drag-out, blow-out.  It started out that way, but it didn't last very long. 

I put an arm roast in the crock pot this morning with onions, pototoes, carrots, and a can of tomatoes.  It was very good.  I think the tomatoes made the differece.  They added a richness to the broth that things cooked in the crock pot don't usually have.  The meat was very tender, too, and hubby liked everything.  So that's a winner!  And easy, too. 

I took some snow photos today, but I didn't go out because the wind had blown all the snow off the branches by the time I got up.  They are on the old camera that I left downstairs, so I will have to print some later.  We didn't get any more snow today, but the wind blew what we had around a lot.  We have drifts that are several feet deep in lots of places.  I will have a hard time getting to work by 11:00. 

Bedtime already.   I am especially thankful for a nice warm house tonight. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Baby hooded bath towel

  1. And were you happy with how the hooded towel turned out? My children loved their hooded towels, especially the large size. If you can believe it, my 11 year old daughter still uses the one I ordered for her some years ago from either LL Bean or Lands End!! The hooded towel in your picture looks like it turned out quite well. I look forward to hearing how your second attempt goes and if it is all you hoped it would be.

  2. Waterbaby says:

    What, no lemon bars with the roast?! ;D I'm a big fan of crockpots. So convenient and handy and I've experimented with many a new recipe using one. In fact, now that I think on it, I've never had a crockpot failure – ever. I especially like it for chili and international dishes like Morrocan stews.

  3. Flowergirl says:

    Nice towel… and the dish .. šŸ™‚

  4. I'm thinking this one will be alright for babies. The hood is quite small. The second one has a larger hood, but I wish I had made the cuff bigger. I'll get it figured out by trial and error! I need a baby or small child to try them out on.
    The meal was good. I picked the rest of the meat off the bone after we ate and put it in with the rest of the broth and vegetables so it would be ready to eat, sort of like stew.

  5. I had some leftover pumpkin pie. I may give those lemon bars another try today. I'm really hungry for something lemon.

  6. Waterbaby says:

    To play with the words of one famous Shakespeare, The fault, dear CbD, lies not in the recipe, but ourselves. Give it another try, without the oversalting (even a little will ruin a dish) and I bet you like 'em!

  7. You are exactly right! I tried them again this afternoon and they were wonderful. I got out the magnifying glass to make sure I could read the recipe correctly. I got the right amount of salt this time, and baked them at a bit lower temperature. Perfect! We ate half of them for dinner.

  8. Waterbaby says:

    "We ate half of them for dinner." Well, that's no good! You've only exchanged one problem, oversalted bars, for another, obesity! – lol

  9. You've got that right! I made them late in the afternoon, then we went to 5:00 Mass, so we were hungry and looking for anything to eat as soon as we walked in the door. I'm sure they are all gone now.

Leave a Reply

