Snow photos from Thursday

Cloudy, grey skies from Thursday.  If you look closely, you can see the sun in the upper third of the photo. 

 

Looking west from the front of our house.  This snow drift wraps half way around the house.  It is even deeper on the south side of the house.  Hubby was able to dig a path out from the garage so I could get to work yesterday.  I called him to ask if I could get back up our road to come home last night because I had plowed through a major drift going out.  He thought I was talking about the driveway, so he couldn't figure out what I was worried about.  I worked an hour and a half over since I was working by myself and I knew no one was scheduled to come in until 11:00 today.  I know I'm not getting paid enough to worry about their staffing problems, but I also know how it feels to come in to work and be swamped with orders with no one to help you.  I finished all the orders that were due before 11:00, and convinced them to call someone to come in at 9:00 to help.  Hope it turned out okay for them.  There has just been two of us working all week, and we are getting way behind.  We are just barely keeping orders done, with no time to do case cakes.  I am going to ask them to order some predecorated cakes until they can get the staffing back up to snuff. 

It was 11:00 before I got home last night.  I had to walk the last 50 yards because I got stuck in the road.  At least I was right in front of the house, and I had a flashlight in the car.  My feet got cold, but otherwise, it wasn't bad.  I didn't have to wade through any drifts. 

I made some split pea soup this morning.  It is so good.  I always thought it looked awful, but it is very tasty.  I'm going to take some to work for my lunch tomorrow.  I made some more lemon bars this afternoon.  Turned out much better than the ones from last Saturday.  These were delicious. 

I also made a small rag quilted table runner this afternoon.  I didn't take a picture of it yet because I need to wash it a couple of more times to get more of the frayed look going. 

And I have learn how to do a couple of things with my new camera.  I know this doesn't sound like much, but when I got it, I read just enough to figure out how to charge the battery, turn it on, shoot, and upload to my computer.  This week I have learned how to delete shots and how to take movies.  My other camera would take movies, too, but I haven't figured out how to do it yet.  My hubby accidently took a couple one day when he borrowed the camera and got it set wrong.  It was pretty funny! 

It was already -2 an hour ago.  It is going to be cold here in the morning!  At least I don't have to be at work until 11:00.  I have a heavy, downfilled winter coat.  I'm getting a lot of use out of if this year.  At least my body stays warm.  I have insulated boots, too, but I haven't gotten them out yet.  They would be too warm to work in, although most days I wear two or three shirts and/or a fleece jacket.  With the cake counter being just inside the door, it is hard to stay warm and work. 

It was late before I got to bed last night, so I'm going to turn in early tonight.  I was watching the football game, but I was rooting for the Eagles, so I gave up a half time.  One of the Eagles players played for the MU Tigers last year and is having a good rookie year.  He is exciting to watch.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Snow photos from Thursday

  1. LBeeeze says:

    I bet it was really freezing walking that last 50 yards. It's so cold out there. I really don't like it when it's this bitter.

  2. You seem to be doing a good job learning your new camera. I am doing that as well. I have the new camera and the new computer…a bit much to learn all the sudden, also while learning how to navigate this blog. But it will be worth it. I have been learning my camera at about the same rate as you have, although my 14 year old daughter read how to delete the pictures and she did it. I fear I will be taking the camera to her until I learn. Seems to come so easily to the younger generation!! But I can tell a big difference in my pictures. I notice you take black and white. Do you take digital photos? Mine is a digital camera. Look forward to seeing more of your work.

  3. Yes, I take a lot of digital black and white. I also edit a lot into black and white. As a general rule, I prefer shots taken in black and white to shots that have been edited to black and white. I keep the manual setting on one of my cameras on black and white so it is easy to switch to that mode on the go.
    My kids learned how to use the computer before I did and they still know more than I do!
    I'm looking forward to seeing more of your photos, and reading more of your stories.

  4. I had worn my really heavy winter coat, so most of me stayed warm. Just my feet got cold because I had worn my little thin work shoes which are canvas mary janes. For some reason, I can't work in sports shoes. They make my feet hurt.

  5. LBeeeze says:

    BRRRRRRRRRRrrrrrrr….I bet it took hours to get warm again.

  6. Waterbaby says:

    lol, I didn't need to look closely, I spotted the sun immediately. Nothing personal of course but I so do not like gray-sky pictures. Living under them 9 months of the year as I do is quite quite enough (actually more than enough), thankyouverymuch. A work station that close to the door? Brrrr.

  7. It did. My blood doesn't get down to my feet very fast. Once my feet get cold it takes a long time for them to get warm. Makes a good story anyway!

  8. I hear you on the grey, cloudy skies. It only takes a day or two of that stuff and I start getting depressed. Having to get up and go to work on days like that is good. I can't easily see outside, and we have bright lighting in our work area. In fact, our entire store is well lit. The back hallways are kind of dark, but I don't have to be there very long.

Leave a Reply

