Making a fashion statement…

at Wal-mart.  Today was as normal as Friday was crazy.  I kept my camera in my pocket so it was easier to "catch" people.  There is a Starbucks cooler at the end of my work space, so I can hide my camera behind the case and just slid it out to take a shot.  I push the shutter when I see the green squares.  Here are a few of the more interesting ones from today.

 

Bare legs was a common theme.  We had -14 last night, the coldest night we have had in ten years or so.  So much for global warming!

 

 

Can you still by this stuff at the store or do you have to shop at Salvation Army?

 

This look is still popular, although you don't see it as often as you used to.  Lots of boots this winter. 

 

I'm sure these fleece pants are comfortable, but they still look like pajamas. 

 

This may be the hotest thing going, but I wouldn't be caught dead in it!  It makes a statement, that's for sure. 

It's back to work again tomorrow, so I'd best hit the hay.  Later!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Making a fashion statement…

  1. LBeeeze says:

    I love taking photos of people in crowds or on the street….but I mostly try to capture their expressions. I just don't get the shorts thing. That's just crazy. You're not supposed to wear shorts when it's 8 degrees outside. I don't even think it's hip anymore to wear shorts in winter, but what do I know???

  2. very good idea…very funny photos-sometimes I sit with a friend in a cafe and we look to people-I like it….Have a nice day

  3. Oh, those are great shots. I just had to laugh, especially at the long fur coat get-up and your comment wondering if they bought it at the store of the Salavation Army!! My goodness. People, evidently, will wear anything!!! I know, when we go on road trips, my girls wear their pj pants. I am sure we look just as funny, lol. But I did enjoy the pictures you took with people so unaware that their picture was being taken.

  4. Waterbaby says:

    lol, the hottest thing going — do you mean leggings? Or people in them who shouldn't be, least not in public?When I see folks in shorts in cold weather, I envy them. I love (dry) cold but am a total lightweight, wind and cold shoot right through me, my hands and feet turn white like ice long before the norm. In short, I've the love of winter but not the body for it …

  5. I'm a little afraid to try taking pictures of faces. I don't want to make anyone mad, especially since I'm doing this while I'm being paid to work! Shh! Don't tell anyone!

  6. I like to people watch, too. You see just about everything where I work.

  7. We went barefoot all the time when we were kids, and I let my kids go barefoot, too. I think the rule was the same as yours. If it was 60, shoes were optional. I can see where PJ pants would be great for travel, especially for kids. If I lived in town and was just going to run to the store to pick up a couple of things, I might consider where them, but I don't know. I may be too old fashioned. I still got dressed up with hose and heels just for a doctor's appointment when we got married. Wow! I can't imagine doing that now. I wore jeans to church Saturday night.

  8. LBeeeze says:

    Not meeeeee….I'm not gonna tell anyone!!!

  9. I shouldn't be so shocked by the shorts. For the first 20 odd years of my life, I rarely wore pants. And the skirts were short! In winter, I did wear heavy hose or tights, but I remember going to elementary school in dresses with my legs sticking out and not thinking anything of it.
    I think she could have pulled off the tights if they had been dark like the dress.

Leave a Reply

