Photo Quest #84 – Back to Basics

Here's a photo of my poinsettia that I took this afternoon.  Pretty much ho-hum. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Auto-corrected using Microsoft Picture it!.  Not much improvement. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first thing I did was increase the contrast.  I used Microsoft Picture It! to do all the editing. 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

Then I clicked on the color options and increase the red and green, but didn't change the blue/yellow.  I also increased the saturation.  Looking better.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I sharpened the photo, and straightened the photo by clicking on the top and bottom of the window frame.  Almost done!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here's the finished product.  Just like #4 above except it is cropped.  I could have pulled it in tighter, but I wanted the center of the blooms to bisect the rule of thirds line at the top of the photo. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Photo Quest #84 – Back to Basics

  1. Waterbaby says:

    Coincidentally, I just posted on poinsettia care; did you read it? It can spare the life of your plant!

  2. I check it out! Mine got neglected over Christmas, but is still hanging in there.

  3. Waterbaby says:

    Well, the objective isn't how to sustain the plant through the holidays – though of course that's important – rather giving it the proper and very specific care starting in October so that it may bloom again.

  4. Ah, but mine never make it til November. They are pushing up daisies by spring. I am doing something wrong, it seems. I have had them croak on me before Christmas! Must be my brown thumb.

  5. Thanks! This was my first attempt at straightening. I wasn't even sure I could do with with Picture It! I've heard Gimp is really good. It's on my list of ones to try once I get mine figured out. It was on my computer when I bought it.

  6. Great job Country…thanks for posting all the editing and the photos tips. Nice finish!

  7. LBeeeze says:

    I learned about it from Cap'n Stephel. I've gotten better and better lately. It's a lot to figure out when you've never used it anything like that before and you don't even know what those tools are supposed to do.

  8. Thanks, Maureen! It really was fun. I'm looking forward to the next challenge already.

  9. That's the way I am with Picture It! I finally bought ArcSoft and the book that goes with it so I could learn how to use all the tools.

  10. Super Country, I hope I can fix up a good one!

  11. I'm sure you will. What is the next logical step in editing after what we did for the last one?

  12. I had a couple of ideas…one is to do the extraction and change backgrounds and the other is to forget the logic and do a photo scavenger hunt…what do you think is the best to do?

  13. realworld says:

    Yepp, I prefer the panorama tool on Arc Soft. So I have less problems with the barrel distortions I use to have by editing panoramas with PS. Hard work to find the right editing software 😉

  14. LBeeeze says:

    Just learning it can be very hard.

  15. realworld says:

    I just got to say you that it is good you showed what the editor does if you use the automatical mode…

  16. LBeeeze says:

    The auto white balance in Gimp often leaves a lot to be desired.

  17. Hmmm…. I'm not sure. I'm sort of leaning to more editing, like selecting an object and editing it or changing the background. I would like to try selecting an object and keeping it in color, but changing the background to black and white.

  18. Do you find it helpful to use more than one software program at the same time, like doing part of the editing with one program, then saving it and doing more editing with a different program?
    I haven't tried stitching photos together yet, but I want to learn how to do it.

  19. OK then I will stay with the current thread.

Leave a Reply

