Handmade birthday gift

Here's the hooded terry towel robe that I made for my youngest grandson's birthday tomorrow.  I didn't have very good directions on how to make these, so I've been trying different techniques.  I like the way this one turned out.  The cuff around the hood is chenille.  I won't get to go to the party because I'm working.  But I like making homemade gifts. 

I made another hot pad and finished another hooded towel this afternoon, too.  I want to make another set of coasters, too.  Holiday related items usually sell well.  I haven't tried combining hearts with denim before, so we'll have to see how it goes. 

I had an accident that turned out really well tonight.  I wanted to make cheesecake for dessert.  I didn't remember that I was out of sour cream until I already had the cream cheese in the beater bowl.  So I substituted heavy whipping cream for the sour cream. And I added an extra tablespoon of lemon juice.  It turned out really good!  My hubby will eat cheese cake but he doesn't really like it.  He really liked this one.  It was softer and creamier than the way I usually make it.  We both ate a piece when it was just barely room temperature.  It will be interesting to see how it tastes once it gets cold.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Handmade birthday gift

  1. The hooded towel looks wonderful. I am sure your grandson will love it and probably use if for years!! It looks like your practicing came in handy.

  2. I think the "hoody" turned out well 😉 Sometimes when one has to improvise it turns out better then if one would have followed instructions.See: cheesecake *grinning'

  3. Thanks for all your nice compliments. Luke is only one, so he should have years to use his new towel.
    Hubby tried another piece of the cheesecake for breakfast, just to make sure it was still good! LOL
    Sometimes I think I would do better if I concentrated on one thing or the other, but I like dabbling in a lot of styles and techniques. Once I went through my fabrics and realized how much denim I have, I've been trying to use denim in as many projects as I can.

  4. Yes, I do seem to have mostly happy "accidents". There would have been a time when I would have followed the recipe or the pattern to the T, but I'm much braver now, and willing to take a few chances.

  5. I do the very same thing. I have wonderful ideas and I plan to accomplish so much. Only a few of the projects are completed. Perhaps that is why I enjoy my camera and computer so much. I take the pictures, load them, edit them, and the project is finished!! That brings satisfaction.

  6. Good for you! I smocked a dress for myself once, but I never did get that fancy for my girls, although I did sew some for them until they got in high school. The pleating for the dress for my granddaughter was the most tedious thing I had done in a long time.

  7. The sad thing was that I got a pleater and smocked so many beautiful things for my niece and when I had my two girls so close in age that I did not have time to smock (one of my daughters was adopted from Vietnam and they are 5 1/2 months apart in age). My sister never offered to let me borrow any of the things I had done for her daughter. I did have two dresses left that I had smocked for a store and they were Christmas dresses. I was able to get pictures of each of my girls in a smocked dress. But I thought that was kind of sad. I always wondered what my sister did with all of those beautiful things.

  8. That is sad! You would have thought she would at least have offered them to you. I would have given them to you, especially since you had made them in the first place.

  9. Yes, it would have been nice. We never close. My sister is four years older than I am and we were as different as night and day. I always looked up to her as she was four years older than me. I don't think the feeling was mutual. But life is like that sometimes. I have grown to accept it. I named my last daughter after my sister. That really surprised and touched her. I know that deep down, she cares about me just as I care about her.

  10. Sort sounds like my sister. She is four years younger than I am. The only time we were really close was while she was in college. Then she lived fairly close, and would come over for weekends. Now she lives five hours away, and has her own life.

Leave a Reply

