Amaryllis at night

I took this shot of my amaryllis tonight.  I like the way the focus is on the pollen while the back of the flower is out of focus.  The edges are still slightly curled.  It should be open all the way by tomorrow. 

I finished another table runner yesterday.  I like the way it turned out.  I'm going to wait until daylight tomorrow to take pictures.  I know we won't have sunlight, but at least we will have daylight. 

It is raining or sleeting or something out there now.  I can't tell for sure, and I didn't want to know badly enough to open the door. I don't have to go to work tomorrow, so it doesn't make too much difference what it does.  I want to go out and take a few pictures, whatever happens.  Somehow, I always talk myself out of going once it gets here.   

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Amaryllis at night

  1. LBeeeze says:

    I think that photographing flowers is really challenging, especially indoors. Very nice!!!

  2. realworld says:

    Well focussed. I love it!

  3. Beautiful picture!! I understand very well that you have no need for going outside 😉

  4. Yes it is. I think I got a rather good one this morning. Stay tuned.
    We had some freezing stuff last night, followed by snow, more freezing stuff this morning, and now it is snowing again. Glad I'm not going anywhere!

  5. I do like the way my new Canon Elph will focus up-close and blur the background, all on auto mode.

  6. I might find some interesting things to photograph today, but I'm not very motivated to find out!

  7. LBeeeze says:

    I think we may have gotten some snow, but it's almost gone now. Just more rain right now. Supposably more this afternoon. I do have lots to do…I really should get going!!

  8. What a beautiful picture! The deep vibrant color of the flower is stunning. The focusing adds another element of interest!

  9. We were in O'Fallon last night. We have a lot more snow up here.

  10. It is really a beautiful flower. You will see more of it, never fear!

  11. LBeeeze says:

    Early yesterday evening I was going west on Manchester and didn't see any snow until I got west of 141 and then all of a sudden there was snow on the windshields of the cars at one of the dealerships. It was odd because as I went a little further west there was less snow and then suddenly more snow. We only ended up with about an inch and a half.

  12. That's probably about what we had. Sounds like there is more on the way.

Leave a Reply

