Edited amaryllis from 3 days ago explained, maybe…

Many of you were impressed by this edited shot of my amaryllis, and I appreciate all your positive comments.  I've also received a request to explain how I achieved these results.  I'm not sure, but I know I saved parts of it along the way, so I'm going to try to repeat the process. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here's the photo I started with.  It is slightly transparent, and I wanted to go with that idea. 

The first thing I did was use the edge finder to draw around the outside of the flower, buds and stem.  The I saved the selection and blurred the background.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is one of my first saves.  I had left a space around the selection, then blurred the background.  Since I hadn't made a clean selection, there is a blurry area around the flower that is different from the rest of the background.  Back to the drawing board.  The next time, and used the magic wand to make the selection by color, since the area I wanted was darker than the background.  By increasing the tolerance, and adding a few places, I was able to make and save a clean cut of the flower, buds, and stem. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unfortunately, I stopped saving my changes.  I know I applied a Gaussian Blur to the background, and I also added color, but I'm not sure how I did that.  At some point, now I think, I applied a transparency, I can't remember if it was just to the background or the whole picture.  It must have been the whole picture.  I may have also increased the saturation and contrast of the flower, but I don't remember where in the process I did that.  I am going to order a print of this one right now! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Edited amaryllis from 3 days ago explained, maybe…

  1. It is wonderful to see the steps you did save. I have a lot of learning before I get to your level!!

  2. It's all just experimenting. I wish I could say that I know what I'm doing, but I don't. It would be a miracle if I could repeat what I did on that one shot, but I may try. This time I'll save all the changes!

  3. Karen says:

    Several of your shots look like a painting. Quite lovely!

  4. Thanks, Karen. I'm going to get prints made from some of them. It will be interesting to see if they turn out like the images.

Leave a Reply

