Cakes and more cakes

No photos tonight.  I had a very busy day at work, especially for a Monday.  It was my fourth straight day of working, mostly by myself.  As a general rule, at the end of the day, I can't tell you what I have done, but today I can list everything I made, and here it is:

1,  a half sheet cake with double borders in royal blue and lime green

2. 37 dozen cupcakes, 29 of which were plain white cupcakes with plain white icing

3. 4 small petite cakes, one of which was decorated like the top of a wedding cake.

4. a half sheet cake with red and white roses

5. 6 cupcake cakes; 3 shaped like basketballs, one like a softball, one like a pom-pom, and one like a cross country track.

Then I still had to clean up and put everything away.  I had left the house at 8:15 this morning and walked back in tonight at 9:00.  Too much! 

I did hear today that they are going to hold interviews this week for new bakery staff.  That is the best news I have heard in a long time! 

I was going to set my alarm, but I'm getting weak in the knees.  I don't have to work tomorrow, but we do have to go to a funeral.  We'll see! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cakes and more cakes

  1. Do the new workers have to have bakery experience?

  2. Wow, you need some help in the bakery and some rest for your knees!! Take Care!

  3. Amy Sue says:

    Wow…you sure are productive, but what a long day! Hope they get you some help soon. 🙂

  4. I doubt it. We have decided that anyone (almost) who has neat handwriting can learn to decorate cakes, if they are willing to try. People with sloppy handwriting are going to do sloppy work, even if they know the right technique. I didn't know anything about decorating cakes until I started working there. We are willing to work with warm bodies right now. I hope they can learn to be good decorators. Being creative is a plus, but there is always just plain stuff that needs to be done.

  5. Yes, we do. I have been working over 40 hours a week. If my knees are still killing me after our week in Hawaii, I'm going to check in with the doctor.

  6. Yes, the long days get to me. I haven't been very productive today. It is grey and rainy, too. Perhaps a nap is in order.

  7. That is a great idea!! Knee pain would be hard to live with in a job where you have to be on your feet! Have a wonderful time in Hawaii!!

Leave a Reply

